HP and ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2005, 04:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default HP and ram

Does HP really have propriety ram for its COMPAQ computers? I asked and here is their response.

Dear XXXXXXX,

Thank you for contacting the hpshopping.com Sales Center.

I understand you are interested in purchasing the Compaq Presario SR1010Z customizable desktop, and are curious to know if the stand alone RAM and video card you own can be installed in this desktop once it has been delivered to you. Based on the configuration you provided below, I am pleased to advise that you should have no problems installing the additional 1.0 GB of RAM and the nVidia 6800GT video card.

Before installing these components, I recommend contacting HP Technical Support to advise them of the upgrade you are about to perform. This will allow them to provide you with any pertinent information about this upgrade, and to update their records on the configuration of your registered PC.

I hope this information has assisted you in making your purchase here at hpshopping.com, XXXX. Please reply to this message if there is anything further we can do. For your convenience, you may also call hpshopping.com directly at 1-888-999-4747 Monday - Friday: 7:00 AM - 2:00 AM EST and Sat and Sun: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM EST. Our hpshopping representatives are trained professionals who can help you decide on the right HP product for you.

Once again, thank you for your interest in hpshopping.com. We value your business and support. Our goal is to continue bringing you quality products and solutions.




Total BS? I'm not sure, has anyone had any experience with the Compaq computers that HP makes?
__________________

Hacp is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 03:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

We sell memory for HP and Compaqs all the time and there has not been any problems with them at all.
__________________

__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 04:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

So you can install non hp propriety ram onto an hp computer? I heard otherwise from some people, including circuit city employees.
__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 05:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

Well, there is no such thing as propriety memory. We have sold tons of memory for the HP systems and we have never had a problem with them. So you will not have any problems buying the memory from someone else. I really do not care what the manufacturer says. I would take advise from people who make memory then people who think they know what they are talking about.

I hope this helps.
__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 06:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 103
Default

I've installed Ram in my HP and it works fine...it's not a compaq though
procagefighter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.