HP Pavilion a320n randomly reboots after mem upgrade ???? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-11-2005, 10:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2
Default HP Pavilion a320n randomly reboots after mem upgrade ????

as per HP - system takes pc2700 (333) DDR (2 gig max)
system : hp pavilion a320n

I have been trying to upgrade the memory on this system. I purchased Comp USA 2 x 512 MB PC2700/PC2100 333/266 DDR ram. When i put one in .. it starts up but randomly automatically reboots . (when both are in it doesnt even boot.) . I tried then Kingston 2 x 512 MB PC2700 and it boots with both in .. but about every 2 hours automatically reboots....

All I had left was a single chip Nvida 256 Mb pc2100 266 chip. It seems to work fine with no reboot with that but obviously slow...

Any advice why this is happening? Do you recommend a certain brand? I noticed it was shipped with infineon..

Please let me know some options / steps i can try.

Also i used the PC Dos doctor... the kingston failed... while the compusa passed , however both cuase the system to reboot often.

rishir is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 10:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 185

Is the memory compatible with your computer?

AMD Athlon-64 3000+
MSI K8N Neo4-F nForce4
1024 MB [512x2] DDR-400 PC3200 Memory
ATI Radeon X700 256MB
80GB Hard Drive 7200 RPM
chickenfoot is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 10:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2

yes it is
rishir is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 03:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499

Is your system recognizing both of them?

Weird, I was giong to ask if you had them in the right spots, but your board only has two slots.

did you rub your *** and make a wish first?

Got me...
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 04:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194

1. Do you have good cooling?

2. Have you tried each module one at a time?

3. If you have Windows XP, did you turn off the auto reboot function to see if you get a blue screen?

4. Have you done a BIOS update?

Let me know....
Crucial Performance Lab
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.