Hp Pavilion 7950 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2005, 08:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 25
Default Hp Pavilion 7950

I'll tell you the whole story.
One day, I turned on the computer on, about 2 hours later, it shut off by itself, so i was "Okay, why did it turn off?" then I tried to turn it back on and it wouldn't. I changed the battery in the Motherboard but I don't think that was the problem. Then my cousin changed the power supply for me, and it still didn't turn on. So now we all think that it is the motherboard because power is going throught the power supply but not to the motherboard to turn it on. So now I have to get the same exact Motherboard, but I do not know the motherboard number. So I need your help..PLEASE HELP ME!!!!!!!
__________________

u8mypaygoo is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 08:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

The motherboard is definately dead and it should say on it what model and make.
__________________

Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 08:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

Download "Belarc Advisor". It will give you a list of all the parts in your computer. Oops forgot you can't do this since yours isn't working. You could try the HP site or give them a call.
__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 09:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

FIC AM35 appears to be the stock motherboard costing if you can find it, around $150. Best bet would probably be to buy a modern board (Asus makes one that drops in). You will be able to use your processor, ram and just about everything else that you would like to keep. Your stock board comes with a power supply that was made just for HP. So, it would probably be in your best interst to buy another power supply. Even buying the board and power supply, you will save a lot over what the stock board cost if you could find it. Hope this helps.
__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 09:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 25
Default

Where can I find this motherboard?
u8mypaygoo is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 10:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

The modern Asus or the stock board?
__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 10:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 25
Default

both.please
u8mypaygoo is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 12:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

There are some refurbished ones for $20 at

http://www.dumpinggoods.com/dumpingg...ic=MB-FIC-0042

You can buy the Asus anywhere to include newegg.com CompUsa and other stores.
__________________

__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.