HP dvd writer 300i Problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2005, 02:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to silence782
Default HP dvd writer 300i Problems

Okay here's the thing: I have an HP dvd300i dvd writer that is a 4x DVD+R RW burner. It will play commercial DVDs,CDs, and as far as I know it burns CDs okay, but when I try to play a burned DVD, it won't read it, even if it burned it itself. It won't even read data DVDs that I've burned with it. Nor will it read DVD+r's that I've burnt with other burners (even though the DVD player on my TV reads them fine.) I've checked, and the firmware seems to be the latest version.

The types of DVDs I've been using are HP dvd+rw disks. At first, it was burning them fine, but wouldn't erase them, now, everytime I try a burn, the burn completes, but when I try to use them, I get nothing. When I put the burned dvd in the drive, my computer doesn't respond, but the second I hit the ecject button, m computer responds normally again. I've tried reading from a different type of DVD+r RW media, but I get the same results.

I've also tried using different burning software, such as burn4free, NERO, EZ CD Creator, but still no luck. Please help. Any advice would be greatly apreciated.
__________________

__________________
Still weak, I know, but getting better:
CPU: AMD AthlonXP 2500+
1.8GHz @ 333 FSB
512 DDR 2700
160 GB westerndigital hd
Dual booted with XP/Fedora Core 5
PCchips M848A mobo
nVIDIA GeForce MX 4000 video Card
Associate\'s Degree in Applied Computer Sciences.
A+ Certified for Hardware and Operating Systems. Network+ Certified
silence782 is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 04:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Update the firmware. Go to the HP website and search for it.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 04:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

sounds like the drive is dieing. Try to get a different burning program, or at least an update to what you have. If that doesn't work you may have to buy a new drive.
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 04:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 199
Default

can other computer read the disc your computer burned?
hkfnstang is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 05:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to silence782
Default

yes, but with errors.
__________________
Still weak, I know, but getting better:
CPU: AMD AthlonXP 2500+
1.8GHz @ 333 FSB
512 DDR 2700
160 GB westerndigital hd
Dual booted with XP/Fedora Core 5
PCchips M848A mobo
nVIDIA GeForce MX 4000 video Card
Associate\'s Degree in Applied Computer Sciences.
A+ Certified for Hardware and Operating Systems. Network+ Certified
silence782 is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 05:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to silence782
Default

As far as the updates, my firmware seems to be in good order.
__________________
Still weak, I know, but getting better:
CPU: AMD AthlonXP 2500+
1.8GHz @ 333 FSB
512 DDR 2700
160 GB westerndigital hd
Dual booted with XP/Fedora Core 5
PCchips M848A mobo
nVIDIA GeForce MX 4000 video Card
Associate\'s Degree in Applied Computer Sciences.
A+ Certified for Hardware and Operating Systems. Network+ Certified
silence782 is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 06:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 199
Default

if firmware is okay.... I think you need a new burner.
__________________

hkfnstang is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.