HP Computer shuts down automatically - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2005, 03:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
Question HP Computer shuts down automatically

I hate to admit here but I need help. My neighbors computer continues to shut down immediately upon turn on - maybe 3 seconds on turning it on and it shuts down. The PS fan starts up then the fan on the MB then it just goes down. Won't turn on again unless I unplug then plug back in. Definitely no virus because prior to continuously shut down it would stay on for about 15-20 minutes and I was able to do a full virus scan/spybot etc. Either way, when I looked inside CPU it was dirtier than anything I ever saw .. from the fans to the board itself. I cleaned that all out. I switched out PS thinking that was the problem, but it still shuts down. Switched out HD and even removed RAM. It was working fine until she had Windows XP put on it. (Which I really do not think that is the prob cause it was working fine for about 2-3 weeks after it was installed.) I had the PS hooked up to motherboard and no other hardware. Still shuts down. The capacitors look good upon initial visual inspection. Something tells me it was initially an overheating problem because of the grime/dirt on the fans and all inside the CPU. What else can I try to determine what the prob is here. Any help would be appreciated.
__________________

dapperma is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 03:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

If you can, take everything out of the pc except the ps and mobo, and use it in another case. If it works fine, it probably the mobo. Also, take the cpu out and use it with the other system.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 08:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Okay, so I agree prob the Mobo. Is it worth trying to centralize where the prob is or 1) purchase another mobo or 2) use the hardware as standby for another computer. Never had to dig this deep into a computer b4 so not sure what is involved in buying another mobo. Thanks!
dapperma is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 09:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
Default

I am doing a lot of reading on the heat sink/fan. Is it possible that could of gone ''bad''. Can a heatsink be interchanged with any computer to test, or do u need to stick with intel to intel and amd w/amd. Her computer has the AMD processors, and the computers I have around the house are Intel.
dapperma is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 04:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

are u sure the button isnt gettin stuck ????? LoL
i had a hP and my button kept gettin stuck lol and i had the same problem
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 06:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

try clearing cmos . Its sounds like a capacitor on the MB is blowed.They wont necessarily leak see if the tops are bulging out.
Youve got nothing to lose take out the CPU and reseat it with new thermal compound.
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 07:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Reseat the CPU and try a different power supply. The button may also be the problem
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 01:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for the help here. None of the capacitors are blown out or 'look' unusual. I've already swapped out pwr switch and that didn't do the trick. With reseating the CPU.. I did reseat the heat sink, but didn't try the cpu. I can research but those that are the best at it know best... what is the best way to remove the cpu. I have no prob resetting it again, just need the best way to remove. Also, I am having trouble finding the pins to clear CMOS. The Mobo manufac I am assuming is: Santafe-KM as that is the only name I see to the right of the serial number. I did remove the battery and try to start up again, but no luck. Even though I swapped out PS with one from an 'older' system, I am going to swap out again with another one from a more up to date system. I am determined to figure this out and I will stay on top of it until I do. I am one that believes if 'man' built it, it can be fixed. Wish me luck. I await to hear on how to remove CPU. Thx again e1.
dapperma is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 03:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Update: I did swap out pwr supply and pwr switch again, and it works fine in another computer and vice versus. I did just get finish resinking the cpu and still the same. I have been able to rule out pwr supply and pwr switch. I guess my next step is to remove the CPU again but this time try it in another computer.. I am sure a CPU just doesn't swap out as easy as it seems - or - does it? Can I just remove the CPU and put it in another computer.. And if so, I am guessing if the CPU works fine in another computer, then the bottom line is the Mobo has died. Any other suggestions for me to try?
__________________

dapperma is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.