HP A708 Base Unit PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2004, 06:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 123
Default HP A708 Base Unit PC

I have just ordered a HP A708 Base unit pc from comet.co.uk. Here is the link:

http://www.comet.co.uk/comet/html/cache/110_220043.html

Is this pc ok for doing basic things and playing dvds and some older games?

Does anyone know what the ports/cards on the front of the pc are?

thanks
__________________

cooleddy4 is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 08:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 139
Default

theres no need to reply to your own post 10 mins after you post it. anyways in the front there are front audio and usb ( 3 usb it looks like) and it has pretty decent graphics (64 mb) so you could play cs comfortably but not much else...
__________________

__________________
amd 3200+ barton
gigabyte 7N400-L mobo
512 kingston
maxtor 40 gb
ati radeon 9600 XT
430 watt psu
thermaltake xtreme volcano 12 hsf
tOny mOnt4n4 is offline  
Old 11-09-2004, 01:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 123
Default

So, what do you people think about this pc, is it good? ok? or ****?

has anyone else had or got this pc?

and will it play dvds smoothly?
__________________
My Specs:
Windows Xp Home
Intel Celeron 2.66
704mb DDR Ram
SiS Real256E 64mb shared graphics
80Gb Hdd
CD/DVD writer
cooleddy4 is offline  
Old 11-09-2004, 03:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 139
Default

well if a computer comes with a dvd rom it will most likely play DVD's =D, overall the computer isnt that great but i dont know what 300 euros is worth in american dollars otherwise i could tell you if its a good price =/
__________________
amd 3200+ barton
gigabyte 7N400-L mobo
512 kingston
maxtor 40 gb
ati radeon 9600 XT
430 watt psu
thermaltake xtreme volcano 12 hsf
tOny mOnt4n4 is offline  
Old 11-09-2004, 04:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 123
Default

its £300 uk pounds, so thats $557 us dollars. I only want it for a standard pc becasue the one i use at the moment is only a P2 350mhz and even that plays dvd's ok.

So do you think it will be ok to replace my 350mz pc?
__________________
My Specs:
Windows Xp Home
Intel Celeron 2.66
704mb DDR Ram
SiS Real256E 64mb shared graphics
80Gb Hdd
CD/DVD writer
cooleddy4 is offline  
Old 11-09-2004, 05:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 139
Default

yes you're increasing your cpu power by over 2 gigs and the price is decent so go for it if all you wanna do is watch dvds and surf the net
__________________
amd 3200+ barton
gigabyte 7N400-L mobo
512 kingston
maxtor 40 gb
ati radeon 9600 XT
430 watt psu
thermaltake xtreme volcano 12 hsf
tOny mOnt4n4 is offline  
Old 11-09-2004, 05:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 123
Default

yes, thats exactly what i wanna do, surf the net, watch dvd's, play music, do work and maybe play some older games, but not really old ones.

Ive ordered the pc and its coming next monday.

cheers
__________________
My Specs:
Windows Xp Home
Intel Celeron 2.66
704mb DDR Ram
SiS Real256E 64mb shared graphics
80Gb Hdd
CD/DVD writer
cooleddy4 is offline  
Old 11-09-2004, 05:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 123
Default

im going to use my old monitor, but its not really old. Will i need any drivers for it or anything, or will it just work?

It worked fine for my 350mhz pc, just pluged it in and used it.
__________________
My Specs:
Windows Xp Home
Intel Celeron 2.66
704mb DDR Ram
SiS Real256E 64mb shared graphics
80Gb Hdd
CD/DVD writer
cooleddy4 is offline  
Old 11-09-2004, 05:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

if you have a crt monitor, you will not need drivers, if you have an LCD, you might need the drivers for that monitor.

EDIT: I just looked over the pc, it looks pretty nice for the price. I would highly suggest more RAM and a video card in the future. Remember even if it's 64 for video, it's shared and takes away from your PC's memory, and 256 is NOT a lot at all.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 11-09-2004, 05:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 123
Default

its just a standard monitor that works with all pc's i guess. Its not LCD or tft, so i guess its a crt?

just a normal monitor, and a i said, its quite old.
__________________

__________________
My Specs:
Windows Xp Home
Intel Celeron 2.66
704mb DDR Ram
SiS Real256E 64mb shared graphics
80Gb Hdd
CD/DVD writer
cooleddy4 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.