HP a405n Will Not Boot - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-08-2005, 01:00 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

yank powercord, push power button
ROger
__________________

__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 01:08 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

obviously, you can replace it, but you have to check how big is the case and how big you can buy the motherboard, but you will need a new power supply also for the motherboard.
__________________

nuke is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 03:04 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13
Default

I have a new 450watt PSU in there now. I just popped it in.

No. The unit is not under warrenty. I called HP.
goobernoodles is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 07:40 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1
Default HP a405n blibnking blue light

My HP Pavilion a405n has exactly the same problem -- was anyone able to help you? I would appreciate any guidance you might have. I was having issues with the flat panel monitor that came with it as well (f1703) only to find on CNET that they were defective and HP was offering to replace them for intermittent video issues. Not sure this speaks well of HP quality. All guidance on this desktop (and fixing the blinking blue light issue) greatly appreciated. Thx.
Lauren Parker is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 08:46 PM   #15 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

yea, if u ask me, hp is startin to go emachines on us, unfortunatly...i had a hp, same prob, mobo died(but that was a cognac XL and cant find crap for it neways) but the ps was brand new, and any ps i put in it, got fried, so i looked closer at the mobo, and whatcha know, the capacitors were about to burst. so open up the case and take a nice long close look at the capacitor caps, if they not flat, then u need a new ps, new mobo, and hopefully not a new processor. if u were to upgrade(not to push ya or nething) id suggest to go for some of those conroes, or an x2 4400+


OOH! just remembered. u said the monitor went ape*#$!, so its gotta be the mobo, cause if i remember right, hp r cheapasses, so they like onboard video...gotta be a cap blown on the mobo, a major surge prob came into the ps, and fried somethin or another on the mobo....
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.