Hows the quality of Raidmax PSU's? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2005, 02:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 136
Default Hows the quality of Raidmax PSU's?

Hey guys,

I am putting together a rig out of left over parts so before I start heres the specs

-Asus A7V-Raid Rev 1.02.
-Tbird 1.4Ghz
-1GB ECC RAM (2 - 512's)
-Volcano 9 HSF with temp sensor
-SB Live 5.1 Audio
-Intel PCI 10/100 NIC
-Voodoo3 (soon to be upgraded)

I found a unused, sealed Raidmax 420W PSU in my attic and want to use it, but I first want to know if anyone here knows if they are good or not?
__________________

quartz01 is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 03:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

it'll work, but raidmax sucks ***

btw, are you sure ECC ram will work with that mobo?
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 03:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 136
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by diabloII
it'll work, but raidmax sucks ***

btw, are you sure ECC ram will work with that mobo?
hmm.. could you go into more detail?

P.S. The ECC should work because my friend who gave me the board & RAM used them together
quartz01 is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 03:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 136
Default

Well how bout this one then? Its an Antec case + an Antec 300W PSU (is it enough to power it?)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811129117
quartz01 is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 07:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I have a raidmax PSU

Out of all of the cheap value PSU's I have owned / seen, this one is the worst by a bit. Unclean power, power rated at 25 degrees

In reality this 420 watt PSU had problems putting out 200
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 11:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 199
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by quartz01
Well how bout this one then? Its an Antec case + an Antec 300W PSU (is it enough to power it?)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811129117
I got the same case but a 350W power supply

It is very noisy after 1 year + 3 months of usage.... I think it is the fan inside the power supply

the case is not bad... but I would recommend get another power supply
__________________

hkfnstang is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.