how upgradeable is my computer? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-12-2004, 07:38 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 20
Default

Is there any way I can determine if my computer has enough extra wattage to spare? Here are the relevant stats: 2Ghz P4, 100Mhz FSB, 256MB RDRAM, 40Gb HD, a cdrw drive, dvdrom drive, 3.5inch floppy, integrated sound, nothing else I can think of. And a 250 watt power supply.
__________________

hello_tully is offline  
Old 11-12-2004, 03:30 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 139
Default

http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/

that site will give you a pretty good idea
__________________

__________________
amd 3200+ barton
gigabyte 7N400-L mobo
512 kingston
maxtor 40 gb
ati radeon 9600 XT
430 watt psu
thermaltake xtreme volcano 12 hsf
tOny mOnt4n4 is offline  
Old 11-12-2004, 06:07 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 20
Default

According to that site, if I use a radeon 9800 pro and add 256mb of rdram, I'll need a 276 watt power supply, which leaves me 26 watts short, if that website is accurate.
__________________

hello_tully is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.