how to update bios - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2006, 10:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default how to update bios

how would i update my bios, and is it safe to do?
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 11:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

*bump*
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 04-01-2006, 05:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

There will be a indepth guide from the motherboard manufacturer, with details of what you type in.

But in general it is, create a bootable floppy disk, execute the bios to the disk. Restart the pc, going into the BIOS setting the floppy drive as first boot, put the floppy disk in and save and exit. The pc will boot from the disk, and will go to dos, here you will have to type something in/follow instructions from the manual that you should pront off. The pc will restart, go into BIOS and then turn the PC off. Clear CMOS and start the PC up and put the settings to what they were (may be a good idea to set the date in the BIOS.)
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-01-2006, 09:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

yeah thats basicly what you need to do and its best to use drdos bootdisk for bios updating http://www.abitfaq.it/Files/drdflash.exe its a clean boot disk without drivers , you dont need to clear the cmos just load optimized/performance/turbo defaults , you can probably find a software on the mobo manufacturer site or the mobo cd that can update it from windows however its safer to update it from dos , if you dont have a floppy drive or a floppy disk then provide the mobo model and ill make you a bootable iso with the bios & update tool & batch file to get it started , anyway when updating the bios you shouldnt do anything until it finishes even if the monitor will go blank for a few moments or if youll hear some weird beeps dont panic its normal
jeremy is offline  
Old 04-01-2006, 11:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

i didnt know there was so many steps to updating bios...but i'll give it a try.

Thanks guys
talldude123 is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 08:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 48
Default

Be careful, when I updated the BIOS on my old PC it completely screwed it over, and I got the update from the manufacturer site. I must have done something wrong in the BIOS flashing process
__________________

monaro_man_91 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.