How to tell if ur motherboard is dead? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-28-2003, 11:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 19
Default How to tell if ur motherboard is dead?

hey everyone,

athalon xp 2000
512 mb pc 2700 generic ram
mx440 8x agp 128mb
60 gb western digital harddrive
350 watt powersupply
some generic cdrom drive

heres the deal: this is all older components of a known to work computer that has been upgraded. i decided to build a new comp out of all of this stuff. slap it all in my case and hook up everything
and i get harddrive spinning, fans spinning, led lights on my board say the system is booting, ram is good and pci slots are good. no post no beeps[not sure if my speaker is workin]. tried clearin csmos, ram in different slot, 2 agp cards both work, tried a pci card dont kno if that works, and the power supply is on the right setting, dont kno if it is good but i get all fans and ect., aslo two monitors both which work.

i have come to the dreadful conclusion that it has to be a CPU or MOBO issue if this is the sad case, how would i kno which, and for sure because im 14 with limite income so it would suck to have to buy a new cpu and mobo.

thanx all
__________________

concept is offline  
Old 10-28-2003, 11:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 127
Default

Search the internet for a mobo manual, you need it both for component compatibility and to know where to put you 'PC-speaker' cable.

If you can't get into bios setup, you'll have to create a disk for that, consult your manual / online tech support.

What brand is your mobo?
__________________

__________________
System specs:
Mobo: ASUS P4P800 Deluxe
CPU: PIV 2.80 HT
RAM: Kingston 2*256 3200
HD 1: IBM 80GB 7200
HD 2: IBM 40GB 7200
CD: NEC (anno 1996)
GC: Radeon 9600 Pro
fiezk is offline  
Old 10-28-2003, 01:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

you can try a pci diagnostics card, the light codes will tell you why it aint booting
dethangel is offline  
Old 10-28-2003, 04:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

When I had that problem (no Beeps) It turned out to be bad Ram
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 10-28-2003, 06:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 19
Default

k guys,

ad77 infinity DFI mobo
have the manual
rams good its in my other computer right now thats on and all
everything should be compatible because it was at one point on this motherboard
also i forgot to mention that i have put the mobo on a non conductive surface and it still gives me nothing.
in addition all the LED lights come on and tell me that pci is good, ram is good, and the others say that the system is starting up. cheked that in the manual.

thanx
concept is offline  
Old 10-28-2003, 09:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Maybe the Mobo?
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 10-28-2003, 10:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 19
Default

alright MicroBell will do...tommorow after skool, if that happens how will i tell which device is dead/bad?
thanx so much all of you
concept is offline  
Old 10-28-2003, 11:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default

trial and error!
__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 10-29-2003, 12:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

that's an afirmative
Demalii is offline  
Old 10-29-2003, 10:45 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 19
Default

but thats what ive been doing and i haven't been able to decide whats toast, i think its the mobo, i guess i can try my psu on another comp, and if i were to try the cpu on my other motherboard, if the cpu was damaged could it in any way effect my other motherboard?
thanx guys
__________________

concept is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.