How to tell if a processor is damaged? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2005, 01:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
gnu
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 20
Default How to tell if a processor is damaged?

I have an Athlon XP 2100 and I'm not sure if it is damaged or not. I've already bought a new computer, but I want to know if this can still be salvaged.

I noticed that the CPU fan was not powered. I don't recall how long that had been going on. The cord had snapped or something. I reattached it.

Well, my old computer could start up, run through the boot up screens, but when it started to load Windows XP, it would freeze up. At first, I thought I would try re-installing Windows, but it would say there was an error with the CD. I know that was not really the case, because both CDs I used caused the error to display, and even then, I was able to use the CDs on my laptop without problem. So I don't know.

I've taken the system board out, and visually inspected the CPU. The core does not seem to have any anomalies, although I don't know how good a visual inspection could be.

Is there any other way to determine damage? From my description above, does it seem like it has been damaged? How long could my CPU have survived without the fan?
__________________

gnu is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 01:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 260
Default

If you've damaged your cpu generally it won't get past the POST.

I would check your Harddrive first. Depending on the make, the manufacturer should have a disk checker of some sort on their site.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (Overclocked to 3300+)
ASUS K8V-Deluxe
1GB PC3200 DDR
2x200GB Seagate SATA RAID 0
BFG 6800GT OC w\\128MB Ram
2x 19\" Samsung 930B LCDs
jinexile is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 01:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

I second that.
Athlons get very hot very quickly so you've been lucky by the sound of it.

Check your CDROM first or try a replacement CDROM, if CD checks out ok, check the IDE cable & run some diagnostic tests over the mobo & RAM.
Samm is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 01:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
gnu
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 20
Default

If the CPU fried, would the Mobo have been damaged as well?
gnu is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 01:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 260
Default

Its possible.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (Overclocked to 3300+)
ASUS K8V-Deluxe
1GB PC3200 DDR
2x200GB Seagate SATA RAID 0
BFG 6800GT OC w\\128MB Ram
2x 19\" Samsung 930B LCDs
jinexile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.