How Is This System - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-14-2004, 08:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default How Is This System

Intel Xeon 2.8 GHz w/ EM64T
SuperMico X6DAL-XG-O mPGA604
Sapphire Radeon X300 on PCIe
Apex Super Case w/350Watt PSU
Optorite 8x DVD +/- RW
Teac 3 1/2" Floppy Drive
36.6 GB SCSI HDD (Brand, Haven't Checked)
36.6 GB SCSI HDD (Brand, Haven't Checked)
4 x 512MB DDR333 Registered
21" Samsung Flat Panel TV/Display w/Monitor
Generic Keyboard
Microsoft Explorer Optical Mouse
LG 52x CD-Rom
Iomega Zip 250 External
LSI Logic Ultra 320 Controller on PCI-X 64

This system is for my Dad and he is an SQL and Oracle DBA. He needs a better computer to work on. He has the SCSI HDDs, 2 GB DDR333 Reg., Samsung display, keyboard, mouse, scsi controller, cd drive and zip at home. All he needs is the other stuff. Can anyone find a cheaper motherboard with firewire and PCI-E 16x (no need for 1x, 4x, 8x) and PCI-X? That board is a bit expensive. All help will be appreciated.
__________________

Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 11-14-2004, 08:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Cool "Crip side..."

Aw Get autta here ya damn showoff!! lol Your system is really good. Best I've seen!

Here's a good Mboard that's not as expensive as most, but with PCI-E:
VIA K8T890
__________________

__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Old 11-14-2004, 08:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

Actually, I have had some bad experiences with AMD and will only stick to Intel. So, is there any cheaper board for the Intel Xeon (Nocona Core w/800 FSB) that has PCI-X (64-Bit), PCIe 16x (It can be a board with only PCIe 16x slot, it doesn't need to have PCIe 1x, 4x, or 8x), and IEEE 1394/Firewire port(s)/controller?
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 11-14-2004, 09:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Have you seen Tyan's Thunder i7525 motherboard? That's the board I plan to use when I build my dual Xeon system. :P

PS- I also prefer Intel .

http://www.tyan.com/products/html/thunderi7525.html
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 11-14-2004, 09:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

I've seen the motherboard. However, my DAD has 2 GB DDR333 reg. He will not spend for DDR2 Reg. under any cost and the board will be uber expensive. Any other cost-effective board?
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 11-14-2004, 09:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

That's a LOT OF MEMORY! 2GB!!! I could only dream of having that much!

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 11-14-2004, 10:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ChaosBlizzard
Have you seen Tyan's Thunder i7525 motherboard? That's the board I plan to use when I build my dual Xeon system. :P
If only i could afford it - im on a pentium 733 coppermine lol

Quote:
PS- I also prefer Intel .
Same here.
Tuxthepenguin is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 12:16 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

dude, what do you mean how's my computer? **** of good man, and you are rich dude. What work does your dad do?
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 06:59 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

my DAD is an sql and oracle dba
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 09:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

Someone please answer my question.
__________________

Megadeth2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.