How small is yours? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2004, 06:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 134
Smile How small is yours?

How small is your dsl/cable modem?

Is it as small as mine
__________________

chadley is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 07:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

a little bigger
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 07:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

damn thats small. Whats the bandwith?
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 07:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by U-Toast
damn thats small. Whats the bandwith?
as far as i know modem go much higher than most connections
could be wrong though
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 07:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

hehe, but ur pc is much slower than most. its exact oposites.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 07:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

yeah could be a little faster..i will OC to 250 maybe...but am a little afraid of frying my gfx or soundcard
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 07:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

6 inc..errr..wait..oops I thought I was on live sex chat.. oh I mean ...I got a motorola 'Surfboard' brand modem from my cable company quite larger than that and it stands verticle. Doesn't lay flat
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 07:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
6 inc..errr..wait..oops I thought I was on live sex chat.. oh I mean ...I got a motorola 'Surfboard' brand modem from my cable company quite larger than that and it stands verticle. Doesn't lay flat
wow..short post Nubius!!!

my modem stands vertically as well
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 07:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 134
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by U-Toast
damn thats small. Whats the bandwith?
512/256
chadley is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 08:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default

Is that DSL or Cable, because I have cable and here in Utah, from Comcast, and were "guaranteed" 1.5Mbps down and 256k UP. But the down usually runs around the 3 Mbps because not that many people in the area are running of my line . But anyway mines a RCA I got from radio shack when we signed up. Its pretty big, but weights nothing. I would says its about the size of a CDROM drive maybe a little wider. Can't wait till the fiber optic network is installed through out utah. There is already a small one set up in a small city north of mine. There getting 20+Mbps UP and DOWN, and their paying half what I do for Cable http://www.utopianet.org/
__________________

__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.