How to ship a cpu? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2006, 08:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to The Kid Send a message via Yahoo to The Kid
Default How to ship a cpu?

Hello, someone recently said they are interested in buying a few old processors i had laying around from the old days (pentium overdrives and whatnot) but they live on the other coast of the US, so i was wondering what ideas, or methods any of you may have on how to safely package a cpu and ship it, with a heatsink. Obviously its out of its original packaging and the box and its materials ere thrown away back then. Thanks for any help!
__________________

__________________
Some say windows plays a demonic message when played backwards, but thats not the worst of it, play it forward, and it installs Windows.
The Kid is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 08:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Well, I just sold a CPU. I shipped it in it's original packaging. If you don't have that, and you don't want to risk bending pins, you could snap off all the pins and put them in a little plastic bag. Just kidding, don't do that!
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 07:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 438
Default

a box, little beans ( styrofoam) or bubble wrap inside the box, and try wraping the CPU in a nonstatic bag if you can find one. Ask UPS- other for shiping.
harley3344 is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 10:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Default

I sold one on ebay a while back, thought I had it well packed but still some pins were bent.

If you don't have the original packing, then make sure it can't move about in the box you send it in, even a little, most be immobile, else the pins will bend
Sarah_J is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 11:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

New CPUs come stuck in a piece of foam. You can try to find some foam and stick the CPUs in it.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 11:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 66
Default

Is this a serious question?
__________________
Asus Board
AMD X2 4400
2GB OCZ Platinum
I-RAM 4GB
Raptor 150GB
Caviar 320GB SATA2
Asus 7800GTX
SUSE 10.0 64Bit-WindowsXP x64-Vista 5270 64Bit
Jason S is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 05:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to The Kid Send a message via Yahoo to The Kid
Default

Yes, it is a serious question, and thanks all for the ideas, didnt know what materials may damage it when shipping.

I guess this thread is done.
__________________

__________________
Some say windows plays a demonic message when played backwards, but thats not the worst of it, play it forward, and it installs Windows.
The Kid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.