How scaed have you been? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2007, 05:43 PM   #11 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: How scaed have you been?

how do you mash the pins? don't those have no pins on the cpu like a c2d? or did you bend the spring pads on the mobo?
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 06:03 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default Re: How scaed have you been?

no the opterons still have the pins on the chip, atleast the one i dropped did anyway (socket 940)
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 06:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: How scaed have you been?

I honestly cant remember any time when i thought i fried something, except for the times i actually DID fry something. But these stories remind me why im so OCD when it comes to checking and rechecking that everything is plugged in properly before i boot up.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 09:13 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default Re: How scaed have you been?

this happens to me every time...happened twice to me today actually.

building a new computer.
getting everything ready for the first boot up
hit the power button.....

NOTHING....

"oh, yeah...psu switch"

did it TWICE today.. lol two different builds. i felt stupid.
Static_11 is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 11:03 PM   #15 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: How scaed have you been?

i hate it when that happens, or it turns on then right back off because you have a jumper set wrong (like a 3pin cpu fan on a 4pin and it doesnt get the signal, so it thinks its off, so it turns the pc off for saftey)
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 11:50 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default Re: How scaed have you been?

SO THAT'S WHY THESE 2 COMPUTERS KEEP DOING THAT!!!

lmao... i was thinking it was some kind of test.
god i feel dumb.
Static_11 is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 12:21 AM   #17 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: How scaed have you been?

like when you try and install windows and you think that microsoft is playing games on you because random files will not copy that are required for it to run? I hate that, get so paranoid on that one.

Then there is when you turn a monitor off and it has a white dot in the middle, that sucks

then you have the times when you have a very expensive and rare cd inside your drive, and you eject, and its not there. JUST SIMPLY GONE!!! VANISHED....**** i never knew cd's could be eaten by a cd drive untill it ate my freaking greatst hits cd from like 1987 and scratched the top...
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 07:57 AM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default Re: How scaed have you been?

lmao i've never had any of those happen...

although on the third one i was thinking you were going to end with "i hate having two drives"
Static_11 is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 08:09 AM   #19 (permalink)
 
djmaddogfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Waterbury, CT
Posts: 121
Send a message via AIM to djmaddogfreak
Default Re: How scaed have you been?

back in my foolish days of just downloading anythign and everythign i could (still do, except now i at least have a virus scanner) I opened this program, I think it was supposed to be a cracking program of some sort, and it said "initialising" no that's not my typo, that's wat it said, right then and there i knew it was bad news, but there was no cancel button. Then it opens my computer and the delete dialog comes up, i try to hit no, but i cant, my mouse bumps into he button like there is a wall around it, then all of a sudden, i see all my files vanishing before my eyes. All my music, douments, programs, EVERYTHING. then the screen goes black. I was in shock, with my mouth open, about to cry, then the screen says, "Thank God this is only a game" I was speechless.
__________________
System Specs:
ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe Mobo
AMD X2 64 bit 4600+ O.C. 15%(from 2.40 GHz to 2.65 GHZ)
4X1GB Crucial Ballistic Tracer O.C. to 880 MHz @ 4-4-4-12
2 - 500 Gig Seagate 7200 RPM HDDs
2 - 160 GB WD 7200 RPM HDD in RAID 0
NVidia GeForce 8800 GT with 512 megs of RAM
Liquid Cooled Processor
Windows Vista Ultimate 64
My Business
djmaddogfreak is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 09:16 AM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 412
Default Re: How scaed have you been?

^^ I can relate to the post above, but my virus was real. Did the stupid thing of allowing an automatic download/install from a shadey website, and as soon as it started I thought to myself "Ah, you *******". After 6 hours of cleans, I finally got rid of, but I was ****ed

But my biggest scare was on my first build, everything put together, now time to hit the power button and, nadda. Found out I forgot the 4 pin power connector to mobo, try again nothin. 20 min later dumby me finds out the power switch for the power supply isn't on. I have't fried anything, yet

Also on my first build, I never heard that the socket 775 cpu/mobo don't have pins that slid into the socket, and ever guide I had read said things about not 'bending' the pins when you install the cpu, and press down lightly till it slides in, and thats what i tried to do. Then I looked at the bottom of the cpu and all the pins looked bend (thats how they are supposed to be). That scared me.
__________________

__________________
Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Core Duo E6750 2.66GHz @ 3.2GHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W
RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800
(RIP) HDD 1: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB
HDD 2: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
HDD 3: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
HS: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OS: Windows XP 32 Bit Home :rolleyes:
Audio: Maya1010 Pci with Breakout Box
BlueHeaven is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.