how to run fdisk in xp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2004, 06:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 455
Send a message via Yahoo to linux1880
Default how to run fdisk in xp

pals,

I am wondering how should we do disk partition in xp
__________________

linux1880 is offline  
Old 02-10-2004, 07:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

you can boot from the Windows XP cd and use that to partition the drive.
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 02-10-2004, 07:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

U could do that ... Or simply right click on My computer.. click manage.. select disk management

U can make/delete n' modify partions here
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 02-10-2004, 04:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 455
Send a message via Yahoo to linux1880
Default

Thyanks buddies, Actually I was using a partition commander, and I want to get rid out of it. I am looking for the way if there are the way to do the as DOS partition.

I mean purely running FDISK command,
linux1880 is offline  
Old 02-10-2004, 09:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

no. if partition commander has commandline switches that is the closest thing you can get to FDISK. FDISK is not supported by operating systems that support NTFS, not any that i know of. FDISK is for the ancient win9x, meaning winME and below.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 02-10-2004, 11:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287
Default

You trying to get rid of the crap that ask you which you want to boot up.I formated from desktop.Partion magic is much better and way less intrusive then Partion Commander
__________________

Deadguy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.