how old is too old? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2005, 12:16 AM   #21 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

meh, can't find any (i don't really know much about laptops)

if i were you, i'd grab myself a small laptop with a decent celeron and 256mb or something and grab myself another stick of 512 or 1gig
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 12:17 AM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

You can't upgrade laptops as easily as you can upgrade PCs...
Apples are known for good battery...
__________________

__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 12:18 AM   #23 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 83
Default

Oh! Dear god¬ÖI looked up high capacity batteries, there are some that go for $160.00. For that money I would expect it to last a minimum of 15 hours.

but thanx for the help!
overclocker is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 12:23 AM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

Neh, wait till we get methanol/hydrogen batteries, they'll last awhile...like a week...

*timidly* Have you considered a mac?
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 01:02 AM   #25 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 487
Default

DON'T BUY AN HP LAPTOP! I can't exclaim that more.

Toshiba laptops are good in my book.

But the ultimate laptops are Apple Powerbooks. Unless you're into gaming (you should NEVER buy a laptop for gaming anyways) or use a ton of apps that are not compatible on a Powerbook buy a Powerbook and you will never look back. Plus Tiger OS destroys Windows...until maybe Longhorn.
hu_xu is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 01:07 AM   #26 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

i have an apple g3 ibook pretty decent gets about 4 hours of battery life on a 2 year old battery i have liek a 4 year old battery for it that last about an hour and a half

have to admit i do get the most ogles when i take it out compared to jjust about any pc laptop even one that are 5x better than mine
look good very stable no viruses or popups
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 01:14 AM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

apple's are good, if you're set on sticking with windows (blah!) then check out dell's line of notebooks. although many on this board are aginst them, their notebooks are pretty damn good compared to their desktops. the i6000 should be perfect for you, or the 700m if you want a 12" screen.
jnev_89 is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 04:42 AM   #28 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 73
Default

There are a lot of IBM Thinkpads coming off of corporate lease.In my opinion,A 3 or 4 year old TP is much better laptop than any of those others(new).IBM; as always sets the pace that others try to copy.Do you want whistles and bells; or something that will last?.........................................:coo l:
__________________
IBM T22 laptop,900mhz p3,20g hdd,512mb ram

IBM Netvista M42 40g hdd,1.8g p4,512mb ram

IBM Netvista 933 mhz p3,10g hdd,256 mb ram

Winbook laptop 400mhz p2

Dell 4600 2.8g cpu,120g hdd,256 mb ram(On bottom of list where pc of **** belongs)

768/128 DSL w/LAN(wireless G)
T22 4me is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 09:23 AM   #29 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 83
Default

The network I use has truble suporting macs.
__________________

overclocker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.