how much ram will i need?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2004, 09:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default how much ram will i need??

I have just brought this pc, and the only regret that i had about it is not getting 1024mb of ram, so i want to get some more.

Will i need more than 1gb of ram for games in the future (e.g. 2 years time atleast.) If i do need more than 1gb, can i mix 2x256mb dual channel with 2x512mb in dual channel?

Thanks.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 09:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

1GB will prolly be enough. Dunno if u can run 4 diff sticks in dc.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 09:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

it would still be the same make with the same timings, just different sizes.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 12:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

will I need more than 1gb of ram to play games in a years time or so? I won't have any more ram slots left after i get this upgrade.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 12:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

u could always get bigger sticks.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 12:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

I have 512 and it's running games fine. I would have got 1GB if I had the money. I'd go for it; get a gig or so of RAM.
Regulus is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 12:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

1gig is more than enough for some games but perfect for others
__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 12:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

Get 2x512mb in dual channel. That should be enought and it will do the job perfectly. If you need more in the future just buy another stick. Dont waste your money on it now most games today dont even use more than 1 gig of ram.
__________________
<center>

<a href=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/inbound.php?user=Neosteve\' title=\'Get Fused!\'>
<img src=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/code/468x60.jpg\' alt=\'\' style=\"border:0;\" /></a>
</center>
neosteve is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 07:04 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 200
Send a message via MSN to wongb18c
Default

I'm also looking to add some ram since I play games online a lot... I have a 512 pc2700 in my comp right now looking to add another... wanted to ask if this one will do...

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...146-998&depa=1

or this one?
http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...ductCode=80059

I'm not looking to run dual channel I don't think it makes a big diff anyway... also my cpu doesn't support it. I only have about 80 dollars to spend.
__________________
(\'.\') Q(\'\'Q) (\'.\'(O=(\'\'Q) (*.*) t(\"t )
wongb18c is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 09:26 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

Have a look at these

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...141-120&depa=1
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...146-212&depa=1

I Know its over $80 buts its worth a few dollers more and they have much better timings than the first 2 you choose.

Neosteve
__________________

__________________
<center>

<a href=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/inbound.php?user=Neosteve\' title=\'Get Fused!\'>
<img src=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/code/468x60.jpg\' alt=\'\' style=\"border:0;\" /></a>
</center>
neosteve is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.