How much power do i need? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2004, 08:12 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

uhh dude, look at my pc again. Half my componenet use 2x more wattage than urs, plus i got 4 case fans, 2 psu fans, 1 cpu fan, a controller, and the audigy 2 zs drive
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 08:17 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Ok. But when i ran my test to solve my freezing problem during game play, it seems like I dont have enough wattage for everything in my pc.

Before any game I would play would freeze up after only 10-20 minutes of game play, i disconnected everything that I could and then tried the game again. I over two hours of constant game play with out it freezing up. At first I only tried disconnecting two sata hard drives and my cdrw, but I still had the game freezing. So it seems like I need a larger psu.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 08:25 PM   #13 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

96% how long has it been living like that? Even 500 would bring it down to 76% which is acceptable, 550.. 70%. Do you plan on adding any more devices in the near future?
Sui is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 08:36 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

I was planning on adding two led fans. As of right now I dont have much room to add any more hard ware. The only thing I would add would be a sata hard drive or upgrade my video card in over a year.

So you are saying that 500 would a good amount? The web site and the number it gave me did not include the slot fan, or three hard drive fans, or the fan controller. What are acceptable percentage of useage?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 08:47 PM   #15 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

upper limits 80% for generic, 90% for a good brand name. Can't remember a lower limit off hand but I don't think you'll ever have a problem with that. I'd go with the 550 since you plan on upgrading the video card, and those new video cards are using more juice then cpus.
Sui is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 08:53 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Alright, so i guess i'll go with a 550w antec psu. When a fan says it rated voltage is 12volts how many watts does it consume?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 09:53 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

I am thinking of getting this pus, would this be enough?

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-910&depa=0
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 10:02 PM   #18 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

Yeah should be enough. Dunno about the wattage of a fan, I know theres a way to figure it out, but I can't remember.
Sui is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 10:05 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

I was glancing through a lot of the psu with different watage on newegg, and most of them tend to have efficiency around 70%. Is this what you were talking about with the percentage of the max power used?
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.