How much do YOU invest? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: Which service does not depend upon Plug & Play?
Fax Service 1 25.00%
Logical Disk Manager 1 25.00%
Print Spooler 1 25.00%
Smart Card 1 25.00%
Logical Disk Manager Admin. Service 0 0%
Telephony 0 0%
Voters: 4. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2004, 11:49 AM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to alecjahn
Default

I envy everyone who has.... money....

It sucks to not even be able to afford something simple like an extra fan or some thermal paste, because I have to save every bit of money i can so i can get the next part i need to keep it running. Right now, I'm CPU-less and memory-less, so it'll be awhile till I game again.

Arg it sucks having to use my dad's Comcrap for all my work...
__________________

__________________
You're the guy from that hamburger train, right?
alecjahn is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 12:56 PM   #22 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

No thermal paste? Damn! Guess you would know if pencil shavings make good coffee, right?

Decent paste is 99 cents, bud.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 03:04 PM   #23 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

I get a whole new comp ever year to year and a half. The price for the last three comps are as follows for TOTAL comps with speakers and monitors.
1st: Emachine 1.7Ghz $600
2nd: Custom Gigabyte mobo, 2Ghz AMD $800
3rd: (comp in my sig) $3,000 (2 grand for just the comp)
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 03:12 PM   #24 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

If yer gonna spend 3 grand on a computer, buy an Alienware. They're awsome!
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 04:48 PM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to alecjahn
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ShoobieRat
Decent paste is 99 cents, bud.
Not around here - people want rediculous ammouts. Id get it off newegg, only they want 4 bucks for shipping on a tiny package like that... ends up being 6-8 bucks for paste, which is rediculous.
__________________
You're the guy from that hamburger train, right?
alecjahn is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 04:57 PM   #26 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Shipping?!? Go to Radio-Shack or Circuit City or CompUSA or any computer/electronics store!

The fancy crap is 4 bucks. The does-the-job crap is $0.99!
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 05:01 PM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to alecjahn
Default

Hmm never thought of Radio-Shack...

Unfortunatly that doesnt remotely solve my CPU/Memory problem. oh well...
__________________
You're the guy from that hamburger train, right?
alecjahn is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 12:56 AM   #28 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

"Unfortunatly that doesnt remotely solve my CPU/Memory problem. oh well..."

Join the club...

If there was a solution to ALL our CPU/Memory problems, none of us addicts would be here.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 01:28 AM   #29 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

Used to be once every 5 years, but I build a completely new machine usually every 18 months to 2 years.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 01:58 AM   #30 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

One of the joys of working in a computer store is that i have not paided full price for any computer gear in the last 3 years.

I tend to sell off my current gear after about 6 month. (provided that there is still at least 18 month manufacturer's warranty on it) Therefore i am only paying the ungrade costs on the current independant market value between one thing and another.

Eg. My last hard drive upgrade from 120Gb to 200Gb hard drive only set me back about AU$50 as I had some one lined up to purchase the 120Gb hard drive.
And the 120Gb hard drive was only used for about less that 6 months. I just need to remember to do a goverment erase on the sucker before i sell it.

If I was paying full price on every thing, my IT expendature would be about AU$1500. But that get reduced down to around about less than AU$500.

Currently since this year there is a lot of technology changes, I am just going to hold on to PZYCHOB!TCH current configuration for as long as I can. Currently the only change I see myself doing with it in the next 18 to 24 months is Maxing out the Ram. I do have some plans on getting a better case, but I can do that about any time. In about 2006, I see myself doing the next BIG UPGRADE (MoBO with CPU).
I am a little bitter with AMD increasing the price on there XP2800+ and higher CPU so that they can promote the 64-Bit cpu. I was looking forward to having a 3Ghz CPU in there. But it's too late for that now.

A few people have questioned me on why i have not gone to SATA yet for my hard drives. Simple reason.
1. Motherboard don't support it :_(
2. SATA going through a big development stage this year. Jan was SATA100, now it SATA150. And in the next 6 months it predicted for SATA300. Why by new technology now, only to be left behind when the technology fully matures. The same thing was with DVD Burners. (and even there things are still changing)

I most likely do a FULL change on any system once every 2 to 3 years. I try to get the most out of the motherboard and processor.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.