How much diff from SB Aud2 ZS gamer and Aud gamer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2004, 08:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 199
Send a message via AIM to bomt697
Default How much diff from SB Aud2 ZS gamer and Aud gamer

since am getting really kick as$ speakers, i was wondering should the sound card be Upgraded as well. right now i have the Sound Blaster Audigy Gamer, and am looking into the Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS Gamer or the plain Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS (between those two, is the there any real big diff besides what comes with the card?) should i stay with my card, or will either of the ZSz make a big diff in quality?
__________________

__________________
if it was up to me, my sound system would be worth more then the latest and greatest comp.

-Gigabite 880 mobo
-AMD FX -8350 Black edition
-Kingston Hyper X 16gigs
-Western Digital 1Tb HD
-GeForce GTX 660Ti
-thermaltake 850watt psu
-logitech Z-55oo speakers
bomt697 is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 05:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

There really isn't much difference in quality between the Audigy and Audigy 2 cards. The Audigy 2 just has support for 7.1 speakers, which I don't think the Audigy supports. Other than that, I don't think there's really a difference.
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 05-14-2004, 03:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I have a 5 year-old Sound Blaster Live: had no probs and wouldn't consider buying a new card over it since even if the Audigy 2 does have a better quality sound, you don't actually notice it.
keep your current sound card, and if anything, invest in a new RAM disk, video card or CPU - something that will give you better performance for your PC
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-14-2004, 10:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

actually, upgrading a soundblaster live will increase performance depending on what you get... at least, the live value. They are soft cards, meaning they use the processor. The better cards have their own processing power/ DSP built in to free the processor to do what it really needs. this will increase overall speeds.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 05-14-2004, 11:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 199
Send a message via AIM to bomt697
Default

i ordered that Z680z and i want to get the best output out of them, so thats why i was thinkin upgradin my audigy
__________________
if it was up to me, my sound system would be worth more then the latest and greatest comp.

-Gigabite 880 mobo
-AMD FX -8350 Black edition
-Kingston Hyper X 16gigs
-Western Digital 1Tb HD
-GeForce GTX 660Ti
-thermaltake 850watt psu
-logitech Z-55oo speakers
bomt697 is offline  
Old 05-15-2004, 12:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

dont know much about the audigies... I'm sure they're BOTH setup with DSP
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 05-15-2004, 09:42 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 199
Send a message via AIM to bomt697
Default

checked creatives website and newegg, no mention of it being a DTS card, anyone out there no if it is? am guessing so b\c i read somewhere that the high end sound cards almost always have it, but i can be wrong. if its not, it shouldnt be so bad b\c i have a good cpu (amd xp 2800+) so it should be able to handle the extra bit of load for the sound, no?
__________________
if it was up to me, my sound system would be worth more then the latest and greatest comp.

-Gigabite 880 mobo
-AMD FX -8350 Black edition
-Kingston Hyper X 16gigs
-Western Digital 1Tb HD
-GeForce GTX 660Ti
-thermaltake 850watt psu
-logitech Z-55oo speakers
bomt697 is offline  
Old 05-16-2004, 04:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

I should think so. The specs should say if its DSP chip'd or not.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.