How much can you overclock the Barton 2500+ with this mobo... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2004, 07:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Arrow What mobo?????!?!?!?!

How much can you overclock the Barton 2500+ with MSI nForce2 Ultra 400 Chipset Motherboard for AMD Socket A CPU, Model "K7N2 Delta-L . Well, like 512 Corsair RAM, if that matters, don't worry about the cooling...

Thanx
__________________

pc_boy is offline  
Old 02-22-2004, 08:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 60
Default

Why do you want to overclock it?... I did that accidentally with an Athlon 1900 and it screwed up my performance lol
__________________

Dimitri is offline  
Old 02-22-2004, 10:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

duh, that's the whole point of getting a barton 2500+. It overclocks like... Did you screw up your processor on MSI nForce2 Ultra 400 Chipset Motherboard for AMD Socket A CPU, Model "K7N2 Delta-L or a different one?
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 02-23-2004, 03:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

pc_boy these are simple overclocks you can try. if you get a OS error back down 0.5 multiplier. generally you tweak FSB, but these should be decent:

cpu external frequency: 200
multiplier: 10.5 if ok try 11.0
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 02-23-2004, 05:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I suggest looking at the temperatures first
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-23-2004, 08:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

I don't have the computer yet. I am building one and I don't know what mobo to get because I am planning on overclocking to at least 3000+. If the MSI can overclock to 3000+ or more, then I will get that one. Right now, I don't know what mobo to get, I don't want a really expensive one. That MSI is 72 bucks so I thought that is pretty good if it could overclock to 3000+. If you think you can help me on getting a mobo I will really appreciate it. If yo need to know the other parts, ask me.

Thanx
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 02-24-2004, 12:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

3000+ is an easy OC for almost any board. for that set

multiplier 10.5 and FSB 200 or
multiplier 12.5 and FSB 166

both result in 2.1Ghz which is equivalent XP3000+, i use the mult 10.5 & FSB 200 setting on my A7N8X DLX mobo.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 02-24-2004, 12:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2
Default Re: What mobo?????!?!?!?!

Quote:
Originally posted by pc_boy
How much can you overclock the Barton 2500+ with MSI nForce2 Ultra 400 Chipset Motherboard for AMD Socket A CPU, Model "K7N2 Delta-L . Well, like 512 Corsair RAM, if that matters, don't worry about the cooling...

Thanx
There's no exact science in overclocking. Two CPUs running the same hardware may not have the same overclocking limits. No CPUs are exaaactly alike, but they tend to follow the same average. But usually, 2500+ Bartons can run 3200+ speeds, without much problems. (by setting the FSB to 200mhz on a locked CPU, if I remember correctly, don't flame if I'm wrong pls!!!)
jeece is offline  
Old 02-24-2004, 09:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

what do you mean set the fsb to 200. I thought the barton is a 333 mhz fsb. why would I lower it down? I heard you can move it up to 400 fsb.
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 05:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

you obviously do not understand overclocking basics. external frequency means physical bus. a 200Mhz physical front side bus results in a 400Mhz effective front side bus.

you are actually taking your 333MHz processor FSB and raising it to 400Mhz effective. this is what i was what i was trying to telling you. i replaced the words "cpu external frequency" from first post for the words "FSB" on all other posts because i am too lazy to type

please read here for basics of overclocking:
http://forums.extremeoverclocking.co...threadid=20942
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.