how to monitor cpu temps? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-17-2008, 08:10 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 182
Send a message via AIM to pts2800
Default Re: how to monitor cpu temps?

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
I'd go with speedfan too. It wont mind if you have a Pentium D.
http://www.almico.com/installspeedfan433.exe
i am running a pentium 4 on my laptop.
__________________

__________________
DESKTOP: Dell XPS 400
memory-2g
CPU-Intel Pentium D 2.80GHz
mobo-Dell Dell DXP051
CD Drive-sony dvd-rom DDU1615, philips DVD+-RW DVD8701
video-nVIDIA Geforce 7800ght 256mb

LAPTOP: old and broken looking for new one
pts2800 is offline  
Old 02-17-2008, 01:41 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: how to monitor cpu temps?

i just use hwmonitor. it works fine for me.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 02-17-2008, 02:15 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Black Falcon 921's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cypress, Texas
Posts: 562
Default Re: how to monitor cpu temps?

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
i just use hwmonitor. it works fine for me.
I agree I use hardware monitor as well. Not the most in depth program but does fin for temps...


(See I can be nice luke)
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Black Falcon 921 is offline  
Old 02-17-2008, 05:24 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: how to monitor cpu temps?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black Falcon 921 View Post
I agree I use hardware monitor as well. Not the most in depth program but does fin for temps...


(See I can be nice luke)
lol, i don't hold grudges. what happens in another thread has no bearing on anything else.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 02-17-2008, 05:47 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 182
Send a message via AIM to pts2800
Default Re: how to monitor cpu temps?

now i guess my other question now is what is a safe temp for a CPU, cuse my labtop was running at 72c
__________________
DESKTOP: Dell XPS 400
memory-2g
CPU-Intel Pentium D 2.80GHz
mobo-Dell Dell DXP051
CD Drive-sony dvd-rom DDU1615, philips DVD+-RW DVD8701
video-nVIDIA Geforce 7800ght 256mb

LAPTOP: old and broken looking for new one
pts2800 is offline  
Old 02-17-2008, 05:49 PM   #16 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: how to monitor cpu temps?

wow that is high. I normally like to stay under 75C load. But that is just on suicide runs. I like to stay under 60C(load) if I can for everyday use. It is really more what you are comfortable with.
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-17-2008, 05:52 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 182
Send a message via AIM to pts2800
Default Re: how to monitor cpu temps?

well it does do a better job at warming waters up to make tea then the mirowave, and it makes a dam good space heater lol
__________________
DESKTOP: Dell XPS 400
memory-2g
CPU-Intel Pentium D 2.80GHz
mobo-Dell Dell DXP051
CD Drive-sony dvd-rom DDU1615, philips DVD+-RW DVD8701
video-nVIDIA Geforce 7800ght 256mb

LAPTOP: old and broken looking for new one
pts2800 is offline  
Old 02-17-2008, 05:54 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: how to monitor cpu temps?

my cpu is at 67 under load right now, i had to switch back to a stock cpu fan because i wasn't working properly, im not gona buy a new one because im getting a new system in about 3 months or so. but 75c idle is HOT. i would recomend getting a chill pad. there only about $30 for a good double fan.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 02-17-2008, 05:56 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 182
Send a message via AIM to pts2800
Default Re: how to monitor cpu temps?

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
my cpu is at 67 under load right now, i had to switch back to a stock cpu fan because i wasn't working properly, im not gona buy a new one because im getting a new system in about 3 months or so. but 75c idle is HOT. i would recomend getting a chill pad. there only about $30 for a good double fan.
well i am using a laptop so would it work for it? plus its 5 years old it time for a new sooner or later.
__________________
DESKTOP: Dell XPS 400
memory-2g
CPU-Intel Pentium D 2.80GHz
mobo-Dell Dell DXP051
CD Drive-sony dvd-rom DDU1615, philips DVD+-RW DVD8701
video-nVIDIA Geforce 7800ght 256mb

LAPTOP: old and broken looking for new one
pts2800 is offline  
Old 02-17-2008, 05:57 PM   #20 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: how to monitor cpu temps?

yeah, I like my idle at 50C on OC speeds. in the 20s for stock speeds on idle

Quote:
Originally Posted by pts2800 View Post
well i am using a laptop so would it work for it? plus its 5 years old it time for a new sooner or later.

try getting some compressed air, and cleaning out that laptop. You prob have tons of dust, which is really detrimental in a laptop.
__________________

__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
e6600 overclock temps ok? mattchew13 Overclocking and Modding 2 12-12-2007 10:01 AM
Temps for Q6700 vs. QX6850 TheMaestro New Systems | Building and Buying 29 11-05-2007 10:33 AM
E6400 temps Syphanx Overclocking and Modding 2 11-03-2007 10:13 PM
Mobo temps? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-21-2007 10:10 PM
E6600 Idle temps STATus h2O Overclocking and Modding 3 04-02-2007 09:11 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.