How to make my computer faster - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2005, 06:11 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

i also have heard that when you OC it get hotter so how can i keep it cooler i have in total about 9 fans case,PSU,CPU VGA close to it 2 near the HDD and a big 120mm in the back.
__________________

__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 06:12 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Hinrichisgod Send a message via AIM to Hinrichisgod
Default

you could do some wire managament to create better airflow.
__________________

__________________
My System Specs:
Raidmax Scorpio 868 with 420w psu
Intel Pentium-4 Processor 3.0ghz CPU
512K Cache, 800MHz FSB, Hyper Threading Ready
Cooler Master Jet 4
Albatron PX865PE PRO II i865PE Chipset
512 MB Dual Channel [256MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro @ 438/243
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit advanced HD
Maxtor 120 GB - 7200 RPM
Seagate 80 GB - 7200 RPM
16x DVD 52X32X52 cd-rw
Cooler Master Musketeer System Controller
Logitech MX Duo
Rock Chalk Jayhawk
Hinrichisgod is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 06:17 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

well can you tell me or give a link for the wire managament or whatevr you think will help.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 06:18 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

see this computer is for online games like WoW and EQ and GW so i would like it to run fast and smooth like i keep on saying.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 06:21 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 225
Default

i think your processor will be fine for a bit. My bro got a 2400+ and overclocked to 2 gigs, and it runs everything with a 6600GT pretty well. I would hold off on upgrading your processor and overclock (2.3-2.5 gigswith correct cooling) it. Find a good deal (200 or less) on a 6600GT and save up for that next big jump in a year or 2.
ak_smallz is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 06:22 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Wire management is just tidying up the inside of the case so the wires keep out of the way, that way the air flow is not restricted so much and things get cooled better.

As for overclocking, you should read the sticky in the overclocking forum. Yes it will get hotter if you overclock.

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=22031
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 06:32 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

well the wiring my psu came with on nit this lime greenholderso all the wiring is ok.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 06:35 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

is there other part i can buy to help with the cooling and making it faster before i upgrade the processer. i would like toknow for my computer some good add-on for my computer what you guys think would help out.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 06:49 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

You could possibly purchase a different CPU fan and heatsink to what you currently have. This may help to cool down the CPU.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 07:14 PM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

..you don't need to overclock
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.