How Long have you gone without a BSoD? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-13-2006, 11:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default How Long have you gone without a BS?

So how long have you gone without a blue screen?
My streak just ended.
It was probably a good eight months.

I was just doing everything normally, just as I always do, then bam music starts skipping and Blue screen. Said something about a driver, so I guess it had to do with Winamp or my sound card. Im not that worried unless it happens again.
But damm, some day Ill break the year mark. :P
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 12:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Last time was when I temporarily had a Radeon 9200 in my computer, and tried to load up some BF2. BF2 really didn't appreciate the low-end, last-gen card or it's drivers I guess that would have been around 1.5 years ago.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 12:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

I have never had a BSOD under Windows XP. The last time was with my old Emachines 533id2, and it was loaded with viruses. You couldn't even get into the display properties, nor change the homepage from a dirty website.

I don't even know if Windows XP has BSOD's?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 02:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

I don't know when the last one was, but its been a while.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 02:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
I have never had a BSOD under Windows XP. The last time was with my old Emachines 533id2, and it was loaded with viruses. You couldn't even get into the display properties, nor change the homepage from a dirty website.

I don't even know if Windows XP has BSOD's?
Uh yea, XP does have BSOD's.
Ste is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 02:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Really?

I download alot of stuff that's virus-prone, and I've never seen a BSOD. A few virus warnings, that's it.

*knock on wood*
talldude123 is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 07:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

Cant even remember if ive had one before, so clearly a very long time even if i did have one!
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 07:32 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 54
Default

I haven't had one for a year, and the last time I had one, was when I started up Meedio, which is a type of media center for Windows XP Home or Windows XP Pro, an just guess what it was that did it.... my lovely graphics drivers .... back when I only had onboard Intel Extreme... ugh..
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6300
Mobo: HP DX7300MT, Intel 965 Chipset.
RAM: 1GB DDR2 PC4300
GPU: Gainward GeForce 7600GT 256MB PCI-E
Drives: 1x160GB SATA2 HD, 1x80GB SATA2 HD, 1xLG DVD-RW
Lord Joshly is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 11:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

On a lighter note Im now stable @ 2.48 GHz.
I don't know how high Ill get with the stock heatsink or without changing the Voltage. Meh.
Ste is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 02:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

last time i had one was on my old computer right before the powersupply failed, and killed the mobo, cpu, graphics card, and a hdd(hp pavilion 7940, you will be missed)
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.