How long does Defrag take???? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2004, 02:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421

What's standby?

If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"\"><img src=\"\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 02:12 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932

reformat the beast.
Don't be rediculous. He doesn't need to reformat.

If he's only got 6 gigs worth of stuff, it shouldn't take long at all. And besides...everyone should run a defrag once a month.


Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 02:18 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO

The time it takes to defrag depends on all of the above PLUS what software you are using to defrag with.

-Dan The Man
<a href=\"\"><img src=\"\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 02:20 PM   #14 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
TheMajor's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177

O&O Defrag is the best IMO
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 04:50 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247

just do it in safe mode. many things may cause the defrag to restart. anytime files are added, removed, altered, etc, it will restart itself. windows is SUPPOSED to know, but on older os things like a screen saver popping up would sometimes cause it to not just pause, but crash and restart. sometimes it'll just restart and sometimes it'll say the contents on the HDD have changed, restarting defragmentation. So, run in safe mode. Other things can be done, but do that first. Also, scandisk prior in safe mode.
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 05:30 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

killians45 is right
another thing is that the disk might have errors and the defrag program can't defrag the parts with errors

run a scandisk, or in the case of 2000 or XP, go into command by going to either start, programs, accessories, command prompt or you go to start, run and type 'command'
then in the DOS window type 'chkdsk /f'

Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.