How long? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2006, 10:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default How long?

How long do you predict it's going to be before we reach the limit with silicon? I heard that because CPU's are getting so small now a days and crammed with transistors the electrons are getting too close to each other and effecting each other.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 12:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

don't worry, civilization will end pretty soon, and we won't be worrying about silicon and transistors then.
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 12:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

well put.

in all seriousness though, when we get to the limit of normal chip process we can just start cramming more cores together. maybe a 24-core cpu will be good for gaming?

i think alternative means of computing will have developed by the time THAT is no longer feasible. efforts on quantum computing and even a computer powered by DNA are well underway.

DNA computing:
http://hardware.slashdot.org/article...4/12/20/175256
http://news.nationalgeographic.com/n...Acomputer.html

Quantum computing:
http://www.cs.caltech.edu/~westside/quantum-intro.html
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quantum_computer
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 02:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

from what I've read, Quantum computers are not about finding the answer to a problem. they find a number of possible solutions and give the probability of each
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 12:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

right now, that may be the case. we don't even fully understand quantum mechanics.
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 12:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

Well look at the cell proccessor in the PS3, I think if we ever come to the point you are talking about I believe that a similar architecture like the cell will be our solution. The current cell like the one in the PS3 won't work in a pc right now but some people are saying that if you made some changes with the cell and have a OS that can support the CPU you can have it run a PC, but I'm sure that having to change the type of computer chips we use won't be happening for a while.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cell_(microprocessor)
Waphlez is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 01:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 138
Default

one solution might be to move devices off the CPU and onto the mainboard. This will make mainboards more expensive and controll the cost of a high end CPU. Right now , mainboards are cheap and CPUs are expensive.
__________________
Biostar T-force 4U,Opteron 148@2.6Ghz.CorsairXMS DDR500-2gigs,EVGA7800GT CO.Seagate160gigSATA II,Koolance ICM 510 watercooling,Coolermaster Stacker830
cobalt817 is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 01:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

That's a good idea but would thing be compatible?
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 01:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 138
Default

not with anything we have now, but in the future?
__________________
Biostar T-force 4U,Opteron 148@2.6Ghz.CorsairXMS DDR500-2gigs,EVGA7800GT CO.Seagate160gigSATA II,Koolance ICM 510 watercooling,Coolermaster Stacker830
cobalt817 is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 01:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Yea well not with anything now but AMD and INTEL would just probably design their chips to work with a certain amount of cache found on the motherboard.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.