How to install a DVD/CD Rewritable Drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-05-2005, 02:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
Default How to install a DVD/CD Rewritable Drive

I need help on how to plug in my drive. Everything is okay when I plug everything to the New DVD/CD drive but I can't find where the other end goes which should be to the secondary IDE connector.
__________________

Devo87 is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 02:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

is there a connector on another cable, such as hard drive or other cd drive? your talking IDE to Motherboard rite?
__________________

__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 03:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
Default

yeah, i have a Primary IDE connector, which is connected by the Hard disk drive but I don't have a Secondary IDE connector for the new DVD/CD drive or one that fits anyways
Devo87 is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 03:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

is there a spare spot on the motherboard for another IDE cable
__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 03:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
Default

I believe so but the IDE cable doesn't fit since it is bigger. I've also been trying to plug in the Primary IDE connector to the new DVD/CD drive and not even use to secondary one.
Devo87 is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 03:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 151
Default

What mobo do you have ?
__________________
Be not afraid of growing slowly, be afraid only of standing still - Knowledge will get you somewhere, stupidity will get you nowhere
Catbert is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 03:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
Default

What do you mean what mother board do I have?
Devo87 is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 03:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 151
Default

If we know your mobo, we can look it up and help you better by finding documentation etc on it.

Or, just look for your HDD IDE connector on your mobo, there should be at least another two IDE connectors, one of which is smaller than the others [ FDD connector ].

The connectors should actually be labeled for what goes where.
__________________
Be not afraid of growing slowly, be afraid only of standing still - Knowledge will get you somewhere, stupidity will get you nowhere
Catbert is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 03:38 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

or u could buy a new IDE cable and use the 1 cable for both devices
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 04:07 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
Default

why would I need to buy a new IDE cable if I could use the primary one for both devices
__________________

Devo87 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.