How Impaired Is PC With Failed Cache Memory? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-29-2008, 03:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Default How Impaired Is PC With Failed Cache Memory?

We run a MARS program to refurbish older PCs for non-profits. Recently I ran into two PCs that show failure of cache memory when diagnosed with Smith Micro Checkit software.

Does this make them just slow, or are they inoperable or unreliable? One recently seemed to run XP fine but the cache memory test failed. Is cache memory replacable on a motherboard without major surgery? Is it worth the trouble or do we just salvage parts and move on?

Earl C Phillips
__________________

Earl C Phillips is offline  
Old 10-29-2008, 04:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: How Impaired Is PC With Failed Cache Memory?

um no cache is the memory imbeded into the cpu what you could do is just replace the cpu, if its an older model im surey ou can fidn another used cpu very cheap.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 10-29-2008, 06:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: How Impaired Is PC With Failed Cache Memory?

You're not talking about an old system that had a L2 cache on the motherboard are you?
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 01:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: How Impaired Is PC With Failed Cache Memory?

Yes it is L2 on the motherboard. The CPU tests OK but the cache on the mobo tests bad. I could not find anything in the BIOS to turn the cache on or off. Does anyone know how Checkit tests this? Most of all, does this fatally effect the PC?
Earl C Phillips is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 11:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: How Impaired Is PC With Failed Cache Memory?

Those old boards have jumpers rather than bios settings. The jumpers should be labeled. Pulling all the cache chips may disable the cache if they're in sockets.
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 11-11-2008, 09:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: How Impaired Is PC With Failed Cache Memory?

find a way to disable the cache, you should consider them unreliable if they are running with faulty cache. they will be slower but they can run without L2 Cache.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G.Skill memory problems kar916 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-31-2008 07:15 AM
Motherboard/ Memory Read Error Pezzy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-02-2008 09:40 PM
Question about cache memory shenvoid01 System Upgrades 5 05-22-2008 09:17 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.