How Hot is Too Hot? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2006, 03:44 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Remember to get some arctic silver 5 with it.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 04:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Make sure you have good airflow in your case too
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 02:48 AM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yes, your CPU cooler needs to get cool air from somewhere
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 04:58 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 135
Send a message via AIM to McHopsky
Default

It is now idling at about 45C.
__________________
McHopsky
McHopsky is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 05:52 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by McHopsky
It is now idling at about 45C.

well thats decent.... But still. You can do better than that. What CPU/Core/Socket do you have?
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 07:47 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 135
Send a message via AIM to McHopsky
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by uzi9mm
well thats decent.... But still. You can do better than that. What CPU/Core/Socket do you have?
Pentium D Dual Core 3.0ghz Socket 775

Its supposed to run a little hotter than normal, Im guessing.
__________________
McHopsky
McHopsky is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 08:23 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

yeah. I guess 45 is good considering you have basically 2 cpus crammed into 1 cpu "enclosure"
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 10:52 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 29
Default

mine was ideling at about 50, i upgraded my fan+artic silver and run at about 26c idle.
wakeboarder.cwb is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 10:19 AM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 659
Send a message via AIM to KCRMYZ Send a message via MSN to KCRMYZ
Default

I have an AMD Processor and my cooling display is pretty good in this area it runs at about 85 is when you should. Erm ya 85
KCRMYZ is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 10:28 AM   #20 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

SpeedFan is inaccurate. Download everst home edition.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.