How to hook Hard Drive up to Cables - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2005, 09:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to Hayes17
Default How to hook Hard Drive up to Cables

ok here is my problem. My hard drive will work with bios saying it is set up as the thing below the master on the bios. But i have 2 cd drives and when i hook up my cd burner it doesn't say the hard drive is there. I need to no how to hook all the cables up in the computer. If anyone knows where i can find pictures and diagrams that would be great. The hard drive has to be set under master (i think) so the burner will work.

Thanks Alot
__________________

Hayes17 is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 07:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

You want to the hard drive with the OS on as master, only the first IDE cable for it to work properly.

The cd drives doesn't need to be set in any order.


I would put the Harddrive on the first IDE cable, with it on master, with nothing else on it. The 2 cd burners on the other cable.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 04:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to Hayes17
Default

is the first ide cable the one closest to the side of the mother board? The hard drive uses the bigger plugs also. Thanks
Hayes17 is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 06:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to Hayes17
Default

ok that worked but its just that it won't read that i have a blank disc in my burner. Its a Artec 48x 12x 48 i can't find any drivers on it so idn.
Hayes17 is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 06:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 227
Default

You should have a "Primary" IDE connector and a "Secondary"
IDE connector on your motherboard.

Remember to adjust your jumpers on your devices so they represent
there placement in your system ie: your hard drive jumper is set
as the "Master" device on the "Primary" IDE connector-then........

I would put your cd burner as the "Master" device on the "Secondary"
IDE connector on your motherboard.

Your other cd device can be placed as the "Slave" device on your
"Secondary" IDE connector.

This is designed for speed and reliability between the cd roms and
hard drive. Most people believe it is better to extract the source
from the cd rom and copy to hard drive. Then, copy from hard
drive to destination ie: cd burner. So, this configuration works
best.
ImUseless is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.