How hard can I pull? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2005, 07:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 10
Exclamation How hard can I pull?

Hello all,
First off I'm new to this forum, and need some advice. I'm attempting to replace my power supply and have it all out and diagramed for the new one - but I can't easily get it off the Mother Board - how hard can I pull? Is there a trick to it? I'm afraid to crack the mother board/damage the portal...
Sorry if my terminology isn't correct - I'm a bit of a novice.
Thanks
Julie
__________________

lydiebreeze is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 07:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Some are harder than others. I had to tug quite hard to replace my dad's a few days ago. Nothing broke. Just don't use EXTREME force.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 07:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

There should be a little clip on it,Just press on the clip and give her a little tug and it should pop right out
Shumway is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 07:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 10
Default

Dear MacDude,
This may sound personal - I don't mean it that way!... how big/strong are you?
I'm a 130 lb lady, who can maybe lift 80 lbs without too much effort (with both hands...) - so... just want to gauge how extreme is extreme...
lydiebreeze is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 07:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Squeeze the clip with one hand. With the other pinch the sides of the connecter and pull. Pull as hard as you need too. Yo won't damage anything.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 08:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

A okay? The clip they are talking about is a locking device on the connector. When you push in at the top you should see the little tooth on the botton move out from the area on the connector on the mobo and it should just come out with a gentle pull and a little wiggling (of the clip) of the plug. Did you get this accomplished wihtout ripping the plug out of your mobo?
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 08:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 10
Default

Well, I damaged SOMETHING....
One of the "brackets" maybe? Half of one of those very long black things came flying out of my computer - as well as some card....
The numbers on it are...PC 133U...
What have I done? Is it time to take it in or can I replace that little black bracket?
ANDDD = is there anyway to recover my files from my hard-drives?
I mean - eventually?
lydiebreeze is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 08:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lydiebreeze
Dear MacDude,
This may sound personal - I don't mean it that way!... how big/strong are you?
I'm a 130 lb lady, who can maybe lift 80 lbs without too much effort (with both hands...) - so... just want to gauge how extreme is extreme...
No, I understand. I have no problem telling you I weigh about 110, and can lift about the same amount of weight.

EDIT: Only thing I can think of that would say PC 133 on it would be RAM, and that will go back in without any problem. If the clip came off the memory socket, and isn't broken in half or anything like that, it should clip right back into place.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 08:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 10
Default

The clip broke in half. Uh-oh - there is another clip - in the computer - unused... can I attach it to that?
lydiebreeze is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 08:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 10
Default Can my files still be recovered?

I've broken one of the clips on my mother board - trying to take off the power supply...
Does anyone know where I can take my hard drives and get a copy of all my files? *
So I can install everything on a new computer? Not that I want to buy a new computer - but they seem to be cheaper than a new mother board - unless I'm just so naive I don't know what I'm talking about. Although - now that I'm into this project - it might be fun to build from scratch - I just want to save my files if I can...
This is a tower - originally Gateway - but I've reformatted...
* (I have half of them, I think - but certainly not all... jeez, it might just be cheaper to go back to Europe and retake photos and notes!)
__________________

lydiebreeze is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.