How good is a Phenom 9600? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2009, 09:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default How good is a Phenom 9600?

I know it's the older model, but its $110 for a quad core!!! I do need another computer, something basic, and this actually looks like a good CPU. Its not the fastest or newest, but you can multitask like a mofo on it.

so my question to you guys, just how good is it? For $100, it seems like an amazing deal.
__________________

AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 01-22-2009, 09:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: How good is a Phenom 9600?

Do you need a new mb as well or do you have an AM2+ board already?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-22-2009, 09:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: How good is a Phenom 9600?

Nah ill have to build it from scratch if anything, only thing i have is a spare 8600gts floating around somewhere...even then i might just go with integrated graphics
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 01-23-2009, 02:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: How good is a Phenom 9600?

it is actually a pretty descent chip, and it will usually nip at the heels of a Q6600

but just remember to disable the TLB patch, or your performance will be reduced.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-23-2009, 08:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: How good is a Phenom 9600?

I would spend the extra money and grab this:
Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 920 2.8GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-23-2009, 09:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: How good is a Phenom 9600?

no need for that much power, i just need something for my living room, something basic that won't hiccup when you throw lots of stuff at it.
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 01-23-2009, 09:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: How good is a Phenom 9600?

If you don't need that much power, just grab the X2 7750. Much cheaper, awesome processor.

Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 7750 Kuma 2.7GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache 2MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ 95W Dual-Core black edition Processor - Processors - Desktops
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 01-23-2009, 09:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: How good is a Phenom 9600?

Yeah grab a new dually over the old quads.

If you need an amd quad, only go with phenom II.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-23-2009, 09:22 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: How good is a Phenom 9600?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
Yeah grab a new dually over the old quads.

If you need an amd quad, only go with phenom II.
+1 to that.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 01-23-2009, 09:44 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: How good is a Phenom 9600?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AP4LIFETN View Post
no need for that much power, i just need something for my living room, something basic that won't hiccup when you throw lots of stuff at it.
Then more cores would be a good idea, I think.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phenom 9600 Dainius New Systems | Building and Buying 8 04-05-2008 06:52 PM
AMD Phenom 9600 for only $150 at the egg. dario03 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 03-29-2008 02:52 PM
AMD Phenom 9600 Black KNiGHTMaRe89 New Systems | Building and Buying 42 03-04-2008 09:21 PM
Phenom 9500 Mobo Recommendations RicoDirenzo New Systems | Building and Buying 32 12-07-2007 07:28 PM
Phenom x4 vs Intel Core 2 and Quad gurusan New Systems | Building and Buying 25 11-03-2007 07:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.