How good is the corsair value select ram? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2005, 05:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 158
Default How good is the corsair value select ram?

I'm thinking about purchasing this for my system that I am building. Its going to be an amd based system, with the venice core once I can get one. Anyone have any experience with this ram?
__________________

stevedub is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 05:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

i have had some experiance with it and i had to return it because my mobo would didn't work with it. (ASUS A7N8X-VM/400)

I have heard of others using it without any problems.
__________________

__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 07:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

As far as value ram goes, its pretty good. Most will tell you its some of the best.
__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 07:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

I have 2 512MB sticks of the stuff in dual channel and it's very good if you're not overclocking.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 07:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default

i have a 512 stick of the corsair vlaue ram pc3200 and i have it overclocked and it worx great. Timings at 2.5-2-2-5 at 2.7 volts. i love this ram man!
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 09:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

By the way:

Stock timmings are 2.5-3-3-8, if you get a stick of 2.5 CAS. Mines runnning that at 225 MHz (450 DDR). This is, of course, only if your going PC3200 DDR.
__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 09:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

Its just expensive Generic ram with Corsair heatspreaders. Theres very minimal difference between ValueSelect and generic ram, except the price of course.
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 09:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

They don't have heat spreaders.

Corsair 512 Value RAM with Life Warranty: $41.67
http://www2.newegg.com/Product/Produ...ubmit=Property

Cheapest RAM I could find in DDR PC3200:
A-Data 512 RAM with 2 year warranty: $34.55
http://www2.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16820211119

Personally, I'd pay the extra7 bucks for a good brand and the best warranty available.
__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 09:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

ahh yeah what am i thinking lol! but still
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 09:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

it's the best value ram IMO

but if you're looking to overclock, forget it
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.