How to get past a bios password! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2005, 07:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 42
Default How to get past a bios password!

I just got an old crappy laptop from my dads work, but as soon as I power it up it asks for a password. This is def a bios on, but I cant even get into setup without it. My dad has no idea waht it is, and I would really like to be able to get past it and use the lappy.

How can I go about doing this, the thing has both a cd and floppy drive? Can I just pop in a system disk or OS cd and just go on from there? Or do I need to somehow flash the bios so the pass goes away?

By the way, this is not intended to try and access someones computer, so dont say its illegal and I shouldnt know how do do this.
__________________

adinu is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 07:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
AB0
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 54
Default

You would have to reset the BIOS by taking out the batery for like 30 seconds, but it might be hard to get at because it's a laptop...
__________________

AB0 is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 07:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Try a backdoor password
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 07:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

Ba careful with the battery... some laptop have certian devices that will save the password in non-volitie memory (dosnt need voltage). Doing this will only make things worse. Look it up in the laptop manual, or website.
__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 07:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Call the company that made the laptop and ask them, theres usualy a default password that will let you in.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 08:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1
Default bios password

Certain laptops have a reset button that you can push with a paper clip to reset passwords. You could also try to take out the cmos battery but that can be difficult on a laptop. Another thing would be to call the manufacturer, give them the model number, and see if there is a default password.
brooklynn724 is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 08:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

I agree with, "Calling the Manufacturer and get the BIOS default password. Every BIO's has a default RESET password." Just for these situations. Actually the default password is sometimes printed on the MOBO near the BIOS chip. I've seen 1234 & 1111 before.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 08:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Call the manafactuer first

If not try the battery
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 10:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 240
Default

It's usually a battery and and then a 3 pin jumper that you'll have to move. Not sure on a laptop but what's the model and manufacturer?
__________________
<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y107/The51/photoshops/1.jpg\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>
The51 is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 02:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Are you sure it is a BIOS password. You shouldn't need that just to boot windows. I am betting it is something like Safegaurd Easy, which boots prior to windows booting. Shouldn't someone from your Dads work be able to give you the password if it is all on the up and up :amazed:
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Closed Thread

« x64 os | Laptop »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.