how to format/repair an OLDDDD pc?? (pentium 2, possibly1) Need 2 create network... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-18-2005, 04:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 507
Default how to format/repair an OLDDDD pc?? (pentium 2, possibly1) Need 2 create network...

Hi..

I want to create a network connection betwen my computer (p3) and my neighbors...

I just figured out that my neighbors pc is VERRRY OLD!!! I was hooking it up (hasnt been used since a couple of years) and even the cables are different..I have never seen cables like them..the mouse, the keyboard, even the screen...wierd old one!!)

anyway...I turned it on and it said Pentium-MXX or something...then, 233MHz...........

it then started loading Win 98 but then gave me an error reading disk c...

WHat can I do to fix that problem??? I wanted to enter the bios and pressed F2...but apparently...I had to press delete for it to enter bios....OLD STUFF!!!

As I previously said..I want to create a network connection between the 2 pcs....using a router which is insalled on mine...

can i install win xp on it or is it toooo old for it? if not..will the network work on win 98??

How do I format or repair or whatever with these systems??? I managed to set the boot priority to FLOPPY>CD ROM>HD...
but when i instert the CD Rom...
it dircetly tries to load windows...and then gives me the error reading disk c

Is it better if I isntall win me on it? I have cd...usually, the boot menu and setup for ME is easy....directyl click install from the boot menu (havent tried it though with the old pc)...

What do you suggest??

Any help is much appreciated
__________________

__________________

3.4GHz i5 3570K / Asus P8Z77-V LE / 8 GB RAM / 120 GB SSD / 3 TB HD / 2 TB NAS
AMD Radeon HD 6850 1GB / Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced / 32" Samsung LCD
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
13" MacBook Air (mid-2012) / 2.0 GHz Core i7 / 256 GB SSD / 8 GB RAM
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Toshiba Satellite M645 / Intel Core i3 2.53GHz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Sony VAIO VGN-CS320J / Intel Core 2 Duo 2.1Ghz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
Rawan AbuSalman is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 12:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

I have an old HP with a Pentium II 333 and 64MB of RAM that runs XP fine. I don't have many applications on it of course. If it was me I'd try and install XP just to see how it handles it, if doesn't work just put ME on it.
__________________

__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 02:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

XP on 64mb RAM is unbearable. I have no idea how you are running it without any problems.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 02:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Maybe it starts up just fine and he has a lot of things disabled? Hell im running it on 256mb and cant get xp to run very well but then again that computer is used as a back up server.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 02:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

With all the updates attached to XP and SP2 I feel that you need at least 512mb to run smoothly
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.