how does this setup look? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2004, 07:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 13
Question how does this setup look?

I'm looking to build (for the first time) a new pc for
myself and I've put together this list of parts that I thought would be good.

-AMD Athlon XP 2600+ "Barton", 333MHz FSB, 512K Cache
-ASUS "A7N8X-E Deluxe" nForce2 Ultra 400 Chipset
-Crucial 184 Pin 512MB DDR PC-3200
-Maxtor 120GB 7200RPM IDE Hard Drive, Model 6Y120P0
-ATI RADEON 9600XT, 128MB DDR, 128-bit, 8X AGP
-Creative Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS Platinum Pro

I'd be greatful to hear any input that anyone has on this
combination of parts. Is everything compatible? Should I
really get more (or less) of something? Are there any
bottlenecks? Would you suggest something different?

Also, I have yet to choose a CD/DVD drive. I'm thinking I'd
like to get a DVD burner. Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance for your comments.
__________________

hutchy is offline  
Old 06-16-2004, 07:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

what is the cache size on the Maxtor 120GB,

i heard it affects the performance quite a bit, if you run many applicatons at the same time.
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 06-16-2004, 07:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 95
Default

get an EpOX EP-8RDA3+ motherboard. It's a better board and has the same chipset. Its rated amongst the best for overclocking too. Also, why not get a SATA drive, i don't know if the asus board supports it but the epox does.
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 2800+
Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Epox EP-8RDA3+ rev. 1.1
Corsair XMS 2x512mb PC3200 C2PT
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro 256mb
Maxtor Diamond Max 9 80GB SATA HD
Maxtor Diamond Max 10 80GB SATA HD
Lite-on 16x DVD/48x CD-rom drive
Lite-on 52x/32x/52x CD-RW Drive
Creative SB Live! 5.1 Digital
Antec SX1040BII Case
4x80mm case fans, 2 in, 2 out

OS: Windows XP Pro v.SP2
Devil4915 is offline  
Old 06-16-2004, 08:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 13
Default

The cache on the Maxtor 120GB is 8MG.
hutchy is offline  
Old 06-16-2004, 09:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to sethduncan Send a message via Yahoo to sethduncan
Default

Overall it looks like a great setup, it should run nicely for you.
I hear the 2500+ Bartons are overclockable to 2.4 stable. Hm...
sethduncan is offline  
Old 06-17-2004, 07:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

dude, your sound card costs more than your video card, get the 256mb version of that card and the get the sound blaster audigy 1.
__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 06-17-2004, 08:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

I don't see a massive difference between sound cards, but I suppose if I was editing a lot I would.

The problem that jumped out at me is that your FSB is 333MHz and your memory is DDR400. Your DDR will slow down to accomodate your FSB speed. If you are not planning to overclock your FSB to 400 then I suggest you get a faster CPU or slower memory.

I would personally go for slower memory, get yourself some 512 Mb (2 x 256 Mb) Corsair TwinX, DDR, PC2700LLPT, Low Latency memory.

OR

512 Mb Corsair XMS, DDR, PC3200PT, Cas 3. If you only want to take up 1 DIMM slot.

I also think you should get a SATA hard drive.
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 06-17-2004, 03:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 13
Default

Thanks everyone for the advice...I'm finding it quite helpful.

I think I will downgrade the memory instead of going for a faster processor (mainly because I'm not made of money). Will one 512MG 333MHz be sufficient?

I'll also reconsider the hard drive and audio/video situation.
__________________

hutchy is offline  
Closed Thread

« Ram | Small problem »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.