How does the processor know how to recognize certain 1 and 0's - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2004, 09:09 PM   #21 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

ok..thanks..I will search google for some explainations
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 09:16 PM   #22 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

I couldnt' find much, but I'd say if you wanted to write a program that bypasses windows and sends assembly, then yes.. you could, but would be a pain. Usually a program would just use the windows interface. Takes the C++, VB, Foxpro, or whatever, converts (EVENTUALLY) to assembly, zips it off to the processors micro support, they take that assembly, compare it to the instructions and passes the binary/machine equivilent to the CPU
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 10:47 PM   #23 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

8X Good lord....you said I typed a lot major..that all just went way past me
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 10:55 PM   #24 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

haha.. that was killians45' text
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 06:20 AM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if you want to know how a CPU processes instructions, you have to know what transistors are, what they do and how they do it

transistors are little devices which a number of 'bits' (usually 2) are entered at once, and depending on the combination of 1's and 0's, and the transistor type, output either a one or zero - I have made a little image which I have attached below

every type of microprocessor has millions, even billions of transistors which are used to process data in the form of bits, and give a certain output

here is a list of just somke of the different transistor trypes and their outputs
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.