How do you setup 3 monitors? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-07-2009, 03:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 107

I'm currently running a dual monitor setup but I've just recently bought an lcd hdtv with a vga port and hdmi ports in it. I'm wanting to see if I can connect my pc to the tv as well as being connected to my 2 monitors. I've read how people have 3 monitor setups, but their explanations weren't very good, so I didn't quite understand how to do it. I have two 8800gts 320mb cards. Thanks in advance.

not sure why, but in nvidia option the tv wasn't showing up, but when I went to desktop>properties>settings I got it to wokr.

Lian Li
Asus P5N-D
q6600 2.24Ghz @ stock
2x 8800gts 320gb stock no sli
G.Skill 8Gb
Corsairs 520w
SyncMaster 22in. 2ms
Hanns•G 24.7in 5ms
Samsung 32in HDTV
150gb 10,000rpm OS disk
400gb/640gb storage disks
Windows XP Professional x64
LinuxMint Latest
g2k556 is offline  
Old 03-07-2009, 04:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,955
Default Re: How do you setup 3 monitors?

don't run the cards in SLI. Just hook up the monitors tot he cards outputs (DVI/VGA) and it should recognize them. Use Ultramon (or similar program) to best utilize them.


Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-07-2009, 04:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
veg1992's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: How do you setup 3 monitors?

If you have drivers older than Forceware 180.0, you'd have to disable SLI, because it wasn't that capable then.. (in which case, I'd install the latest Forceware drivers, then proceed to what I say next..)

If you have the Big Bang Forceware 180.0 Drivers, it should be able to plug them in without having to disable anything..
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.

.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 10:32 AM
Useful list of Linux websites. tribalsun Linux and Open Source 39 03-22-2015 03:54 AM
??? on monitors, resolution, and dual displays dhgunit New Systems | Building and Buying 4 08-14-2008 09:59 AM
dual-boot partition setup darkop16 Linux and Open Source 28 12-30-2007 06:40 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.