How do you re-format your pc? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-19-2005, 06:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default How do you re-format your pc?

I've read a few links with the search and came up with very little. Can anyone explain this too me or could give me a link to a site explaining it?
__________________

__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 06:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 29
Default

try http://helpdesk.its.uiowa.edu/window...s/reformat.htm
Basically back up what you need, insert cd. Restart and boot from cd and find option of reformat. Link is more detailed.
__________________

SuperXMega is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 06:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Reformatting and/or reinstalling should always be a last option.

While it may actually be needed in certain cases, most of the time it isn't.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 08:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Though its not a bad idea to reformat your HD every year or so. Cant hurt, as after a year, there will be enough crap on it that u dont want to sink a ship. I personally defrag every month and reformat once a year
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 08:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default

I've never re-formated and my computer and it's almost 3 years old. So it's probably a good idea i re-format anyways.
__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 08:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 89
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MADWAD
I've never re-formated and my computer and it's almost 3 years old. So it's probably a good idea i re-format anyways.
I agree with dhw200 about doing a regular disk defrag on your hard drive. As far as formatting, all you have to do is reinstall the windows operating system using your Windows CD. Make sure you have the authentication code handy or you won't be able to install it.

Boot your computer with the Windows CD in the drive. You'll be prompted to press any key to boot from the CD. Just follow the instruction from there. At some point though you'll be prompted to install from scratch or repair your existing windows. You want to select install a fresh copy of windows.

I recommend doing a disk cleanup and defrag after a complete install because the installation process copies and deletes a bunch of temporary files.
1badtech is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 09:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default

WOW!, there was some really bad english in my last post.....LOL. Ok guys just before i Re-Format what should i know? I've never done this before so do i lose programs, like x-fire and such. And what about things i have saved, gone too? Will i have to re-install everything on my computer again? Thanks again guys
__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 09:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Qiranworms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,635
Default

Reformatting essentially will wipe your drive (the partition) completely clean. You will have NOTHING left on the drive/partition you reformatted.

If you are going to reformat, make sure you have up-to-date backups of all documents, pictures, music, emails, logs, saved-game files, etc. Make sure you have all installation disks you need because you WILL need to reinstall everything.

By the way, most major operating systems have options to reinstall the actual OS without reformatting...basically replacing all the system files and nothing else. I've seen those fail before, so if your system seems corrupted, beware, but in almost every situation that won't happen.

On the more positive, because you're wiping everything clean, all viruses, spyware, adware, other malware, and the general clutter that Windows seems to accumulate....will be GONE.
__________________
-->Marc
Error: Keyboard not attached. Please press F1 to continue. <pre>-------OS----------Gentoo Linux-------<br>------Browser-----Mozilla Firefox-----</pre><form action="http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php" method="get"><input type="text" name="search"> <input type="submit" name="submit" value="Search the Forums, thanks to Emily"></form>

|||Official Forum Rules|||<hr>
Qiranworms is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 11:07 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default

So i don't know what i did (if anything) but my system is back to normal...... Should i still consider re-formatting or leave it alone? Is re-formatting completely safe?
__________________

__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.