How do you format a hard drive? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-23-2005, 11:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 335
Exclamation How do you format a hard drive?

How do you format a hard drive?
__________________

__________________
MPFXB3

\"You can not dream yourself into character you must hammer and forge yourself into one\"



Bruce Springsteen
MikePB3 is offline  
Old 03-23-2005, 11:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

is your Operating System on it?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-23-2005, 11:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 143
Default

I use partition magic 8

But if you dont have that, just goto reinstall windows and select the option there
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ @ 2.4Ghz \"Winchester\" 939 pin
Asus A8V Deluxe rev 2.0 Bios 1010.003
2x 512 3200 Corsair Twin XMS Dual Channel
120GB 7200rpm Maxtor Diamondmax Plus 9 2MB cache
160GB 7200rpm Seagate Barracuda SATA 8MB Cache Configured for RAID 0+1
Chaintec Geforce 6800 @ 411Mhz Core, 877 Mhz memory
Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
MSI DVD ROM
MSI CD-RW
450Watt PSU
17inch Samsung monitor
Rayne is offline  
Old 03-23-2005, 11:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

If it's your second hdd just take the eay way just right click and format. It should look like this FORMAT.. juust make sure its your sencond one.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 03-23-2005, 11:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if it has your Operating System on it, you will need to reinstall Windows by putting the Windows CD on boot. just before the install it will give you the option of formatting

before you do this, make sure you have any files you need on removable storage
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 12:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

MS DOS command: Format C:
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 01:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

how DO you get into MS DOS btw?
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 04:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 240
Default

in XP its start >> programs >> accessories >> command prompt

But be warned, in the latest versions of windows you cant get into "real" DOS. its a virtual DOS program run in windows.
__________________
Cure for Boredom
bigbmxdave is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 04:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bigbmxdave
in XP its start >> programs >> accessories >> command prompt

But be warned, in the latest versions of windows you cant get into "real" DOS. its a virtual DOS program run in windows.
really i didn't know that, garra i forgot about that one.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 06:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

You can't do a format C: from MS DOS prompt because you're still using the drive. It won't let you.

The best way is to use another program, I think there's one called Killdisk. You can boot from it.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.