How do I wipe my hard drive??? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2004, 02:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

Just format the drive then reinstall. forget about the partition magic.

You do know how to get to the MS DOS mode, right?

Sorry about the inactivity. I'm at work! Bustin' A$$! yeah right!
__________________

__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 03:06 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: "Almost Heaven" USA
Posts: 4,866
Send a message via AIM to Dave Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PCNewbie
Why is this forum so inactive???
I don't think that the forum is inactive, it may be the time you came on (which is 4am my time).

Anyway, I thought that you could use PM's secure erase to wipe the unused portions of your harddrive so that you don't have to reinstall the OS. Why would you want to wipe everything?

I have BC Wipe and it will allow the user to wipe the harddrive without wiping the OS too. Will that work for you?

Dave
__________________

Dave is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 06:22 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

If you want to completely wipe your hard drive to the point where no data is recoverable, formating the hard drive (Format C: /u) won't do it. Data can still be recovered after a standard format. You will have to use another utility to do that. One that I use quite a bit is Symantecs GDisk. It has the ability to wipe a drive clearn according to US Department of Defense Standards.
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 07:48 PM   #14 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Question WFT was wrong with FORMAT C: /u ?

Quote:
Originally posted by PCNewbie
Why is this forum so inactive??? Are there any general computer forums on the net which are more active???
Excuse Me.......
It was about 1am when I posted that reply and I do have a full time job to goto on mondays.

I do apologise that the world does not revolve around you and your inability to deal with computers, follow instructions, and other peoples time zones.


What was wrong with FORMAT C: /u ?? You've got nothing to loose....
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 11:13 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 322
Default

anyone can recover files on your hard drive well after you have deleted them, its just how bad they want to... I have said it b4, but if you have some reall bad stuff, i.e. child porn, and you are under investigation.... They can use an electron microscope to see wahts been on your computer.
Hackerman is offline  
Old 05-10-2004, 05:24 AM   #16 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Hackerman
anyone can recover files on your hard drive well after you have deleted them, its just how bad they want to... I have said it b4, but if you have some reall bad stuff, i.e. child porn, and you are under investigation.... They can use an electron microscope to see wahts been on your computer.

I have seen the software that the police uses for this sort of stuff. Really cool.

But you would have to have done some thing rather bad in order for the authorities to go that far.
Eg. Murder, Attempted Murder, Child Porn, Terrorism.

So the question i have for PCNewbie......
"What is it that you are trying to hide?????"


BTW....My computer was involved in an Attempted Murder Case a few years back. That is why i know about the police software.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 05-10-2004, 05:30 AM   #17 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Well, if you are in some really deap stuff and need to get rid of it quick.....try fire! I mean yea....it's a little hardcore but it depends on what you have on it too!

I'm not sure what the underlying message here is. Why is formatting your drive with FDISK not good enough? If you are really trying to hide something....don't keep the disk and just play around and try to reuse Windows on it. You are taking a chance getting caught with whatever you have. Go out and spend $50 on a new drive and burn the one that you have.
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 05-10-2004, 06:03 AM   #18 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mikesgroovin
Well, if you are in some really deap stuff and need to get rid of it quick.....try fire! I mean yea....it's a little hardcore but it depends on what you have on it too!
I would of thrown it off Sydney Harbor Bridge.


If it not the sudden stop that kills it, it the salt water that will do it wonders.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 05-10-2004, 09:06 AM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Actually that bridge thing wouldn't work all that well, data could still be recoverable. Try using www.killdisk.com . It wasn't hard for me to use it (with the exception of it not working the first time), just choose the entire drive for deletion, select low pass option (you can't use the other stuff), and then go through the securty prompts. Then you will have to re-partition your hdd. FDISK shouldn't be to complicated. I haven't used PM but from the name it sounds like that will work. Then you will have to format your drive. format c: (considering c is the letter of your drive). Then re-install windows.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 05-10-2004, 09:47 AM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mikesgroovin
Well, if you are in some really deap stuff and need to get rid of it quick.....try fire! I mean yea....it's a little hardcore but it depends on what you have on it too!

I'm not sure what the underlying message here is. Why is formatting your drive with FDISK not good enough? If you are really trying to hide something....don't keep the disk and just play around and try to reuse Windows on it. You are taking a chance getting caught with whatever you have. Go out and spend $50 on a new drive and burn the one that you have.
LOL.. Stick your hard drive in an oven (Preheat to 550 degrees) and see what happens....
__________________

HoLoCroN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.