How do i upgrade bios?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2008, 07:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 90
Default How do i upgrade bios??

hi people i have got a new cpu cedar mill p4 but it wont show screen if its in my old prescott works fine and screen shows... now my bios is really old it says rev 1.1 or w/e thats old.... my mother board is Asus P5GD1-fms

who can help me out step by step how do i upgrade bios... btw i have the 1014 bios file ready to download on asustek website but i need a step by step help to upgrade from my old bios so i can run my cedar mill cpu. thanks
__________________

Chrysamere is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 02:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: How do i upgrade bios??

which board is it?
ASUSTeK Computer Inc.
ASUSTeK Computer Inc.
ASUSTeK Computer Inc.

I can make a .iso for you, so that all you have to do is burn it to a CD (which you can do with ImgBurn, a free program) and boot from it, and it will update itself.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 11:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 90
Default Re: How do i upgrade bios??

well i was there apok on that same site but after reading it i got way confused... my mobo lets just say is the P5GD1
Chrysamere is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 11:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: How do i upgrade bios??

but you'll need to know the particular version. They'll each have a different BIOS. And flashing it with the wrong BIOS could end-up bricking the board.

Open the case and see which one it looks like.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 05:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 90
Default Re: How do i upgrade bios??

this is my mobo http://www.evertek.com/imageshare/P/...-BULK-unit.jpg

this is p5gd1
http://www.motherboard.cz/mb/asus/p5gd1_l.jpg

they look different but ive been using the drivers based on this mobo asustek does not have p5gd1 fms version downloads which is wierd and stupid...

this is the p5gd1 pro http://www.frontierpc.com/wimages/pr.../950013934.jpg
Chrysamere is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 07:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: How do i upgrade bios??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrysamere View Post
this is my mobo http://www.evertek.com/imageshare/P/...-BULK-unit.jpg

this is p5gd1
http://www.motherboard.cz/mb/asus/p5gd1_l.jpg

they look different but ive been using the drivers based on this mobo asustek does not have p5gd1 fms version downloads which is wierd and stupid...

this is the p5gd1 pro http://www.frontierpc.com/wimages/pr.../950013934.jpg
Drivers from one board can sometimes be used on another, if it uses the same chipset.
But it really needs to have the exact BIOS.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 09:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: How do i upgrade bios??

download the free version of everest home edition from download.com and then it can there tell you what your bios is what CPU your running what motherboard exactly you have and what temps your computer is running at if your parts have sensors.

i hope i've made finding out what your motherboard specs were easier
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 01:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 90
Default Re: How do i upgrade bios??

ok i checked it in everest ultimate edition trial version this is what it said...

ImageShack - Hosting :: bios1ji1.jpg

heres my mobo
ImageShack - Hosting :: moboxz7.jpg

my temps are pretty high with this 90 nm p4 i really wanna use my 65 nm one... this 90 nm one runs 50-55C idle, 65C when playing wow..
Chrysamere is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 02:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 90
Default Re: How do i upgrade bios??

well ok ive called asus, dreaded news there are no drivers or bios for p5dg1 fm/s... im screwed big time wasted 75 for that stupid cedar mill im such a fool....**** it
__________________

Chrysamere is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Performance issue with BIOS upgrade gatgame Microsoft Windows and Software 10 01-24-2008 10:40 AM
bios upgrade? grimtofu System Upgrades 8 09-30-2007 11:45 AM
Help Please! PC won't boot up after BIOS upgrade! Katmandu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 09-29-2007 06:49 PM
Upgrade Advice for my system Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2007 02:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.