how do I lower memory frequency? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-14-2004, 05:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10
Question how do I lower memory frequency?

hi

i would like to try lower RAM frequency and i don't know how.

in bios i can only find settings for memory latencies and voltage.

more complete description of my troubles may be found here: http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=29720

thank you
__________________

viverra is offline  
Old 10-14-2004, 05:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10
Default

as i said i cant find any such thing in my bios.

i have found latencies in the advanced > chip configuration menu and all the frequencies in the advanced menu itself relate to the cpu

could it be hidden somehow? or called otherwise?

i can't simply see it.
__________________

viverra is offline  
Old 10-14-2004, 05:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Lower the DRAM frequency to 133 Mhz (PC2100).

The DRAM frequency will be in the same menu as the CPU's external clock.
ag3 is offline  
Old 10-14-2004, 05:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10
Default

all i have is CPU external frequency and AGP/PCI frequency

i would love to do what you suggest, it sounds like i'm just one step from relief, or at least installation
viverra is offline  
Old 10-14-2004, 05:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Can you give some specifications on the memory?
ag3 is offline  
Old 10-14-2004, 05:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10
Default

below is all the information i can read when i take the module out:


Is is made by a Polish manufacturer Wilk Elektronik and ironically named "GOOD RAM".

DDR 256 MB PC3200 DIMM

GR400D64L3/256
010227MT0073
viverra is offline  
Old 10-14-2004, 07:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10
Default

i found this statement in a review of my mb:

DRAM Frequency: synchronous with external CPU frequency.


i also found that other mb's bioses indeed have the "ddr frequency" in the advanced menu. mine does not. apparently, the mb features so-called "jumperfree mode", which should allow more tweaking around, but oddly enough, the manual does not say how to set it.

i will keep on researching
__________________

viverra is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.