How do I know what my motherboard can handle? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2004, 02:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1
Send a message via AIM to FallToPieces Send a message via Yahoo to FallToPieces
Cool How do I know what my motherboard can handle?

I'm going to start upgrading my iconnect this week . First i'm doing the Case (Buying a new ATX one :-D), then cpu, then hdd, then ram. then gfx. I'm not buying a new one...

So, I was wondering if any of you would happen to know how I can find out how much ram, hard disk capacity, processor my computer can handle? By processor, I mean the fastest possible one. I currently have a celeron, and am thinking of buying a new celeron, but am not sure if it is going to work???

Please help.
Thanks
__________________

FallToPieces is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 03:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

Note your MOBO's make and model number then check your manufaturer's site. They will list the capabilities of your MOBO.
__________________

__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 08:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 134
Angry

U could also look at the user manual that you got with the motherboard (if you can still find it). Might be quicker and easier than looking on the net!
__________________
>>AMD Athlon64 3500+ *NewCastle*
>>ABIT AV8 VIA K8T800PRO
>>1gb Corsair XMS TwinX 3200XLPRO
>>256mb Saphire Radeon X800PRO
>>160gb Maxtor Hard Disk
>>52X Plextor CDRW
>>12x Plextor DVD-R
>>Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
>>Creative Labs Gigaworks 7.1
Carniva is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 09:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504
Default

Yeah, you will need to give the motherboard model and make if you want some help, but if you can find the manual that would be the easiest route. Depending on what kind of celeron you have you might be able to go fairly high though with a celeron you will probably not notice too much of a difference without a significant jump in speeds.
__________________
<img src = \"http://filebox.vt.edu/users/chuck527/My%20Work/Sig.jpg\">
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.