How do i have 2 hardrives and get them both to work? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2004, 01:28 AM   #21 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to Trax
Default

So on that small section of pins is where i put the jumper?

So i have to use a connector smaller then the one on my Master HD?
__________________

Trax is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 01:31 AM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yes, it's the section of 8 pins (2x4)

you shouldn't have to use a smaller jumper, your hard drive should come with a one though, just put it over the set of 'slave' pins
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 01:34 AM   #23 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to Trax
Default

i dont have any small ones, just long ones that you connect into the back of the normal set of pins, like you would on any noram HD
Trax is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 01:35 AM   #24 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to Trax
Default

like i dont have one that connects on to an 8 pin set, it only connects to sets with more pins
Trax is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 01:36 AM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

does your hard drive have a jumper? it should be connecting 2 of the pins
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 01:38 AM   #26 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to Trax
Default

lol man im so confused, right now my 40 gb hard drive

is connected to the power supply, and another peice connecting it to the mobo, (goes over the pins you outlined before, just not the set of 4, the set of pins to the left of that)

my other hard drive the 120gb one, just game in a shock proof bag and thats it
Trax is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 01:42 AM   #27 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

by default your 40 GB drive should have the jumpers connecting the master pins, so you should only have to set the jumper of the 120 gig drive.
it is a little bit of plastic that has a metal connector that contacts 2 pins on the drive, the drive should have listed which 2 are slave, put the jumper over these
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 01:44 AM   #28 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to Trax
Default

lol can i see a picture of a jumper to make sure i know what im talking about
Trax is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 01:48 AM   #29 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I don't have any spare, they're being used in my PC so I can't take them out now.
but here is a little guide i made just then
green = i think limit size, but it doesn't say on this drive
red = slave
yellow = cable select
blue = master
Attached Images
File Type: jpg mini-tutorial.jpg (50.6 KB, 169 views)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 01:51 AM   #30 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

well here's a pic of a drive with a jumper, i found on google
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.