How do i have 2 hardrives and get them both to work? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2004, 09:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to Trax
Default How do i have 2 hardrives and get them both to work?

I just bought a brand new 120gb hard drive, but i also have my old 40 gb one that has lots of valueable things on it

can somone tell me how i can setup and use 2 hardrives
__________________

Trax is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 09:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 90
Default

You need to get a multiple IDE cable and set one of the HD's to master and the other to slave. Using cable select is an option for the 2nd hard drive as well. If your OS doesn't read the HD's properly after doing this you may be required to select them in the BIOS. Instructions should come with the HD on how to set the jumpers but if there is no manual then do a search online for your HD and you'll be able to find the info on how to set them up properly.

This is a good start.
__________________

frankieee is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 10:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 118
Post ide cables

Most if not all mbd's have 2 connections for a possible 4 devices.
One end connects to the mbd.The other end is Master,the center connection is slave.The jumper instructions should be on the HD label.
I recomend Hd's as Primary and Secondary masters and cdroms etc as slaves.But it's only my way.
By default the mbd should use autodetect (recommended)
You will see the results as your monitor brightens at startup.
The Pause Break key will give you more time to read it.
Use enter to continue.
Good luck.
bluto is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 10:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to Trax
Default

is there a tutorial i can read on it
Trax is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 11:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to Trax
Default

also how would i be able to switch between both hard drives
Trax is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 11:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 118
Post

Powered by Just the facts man,just the facts.
Switching is done with Explorer,or My Computer.
Attached Images
File Type: gif error.gif (33.1 KB, 6 views)
bluto is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 11:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to Trax
Default

so basicly all i do is just hook up the other Harddrive and the rest will be taken care of ?
Trax is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 12:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 118
Default Re: How do i have 2 hardrives and get them both to work?

Quote:
Originally posted by Trax
I just bought a brand new 120gb hard drive, but i also have my old 40 gb one that has lots of valueable things on it

can somone tell me how i can setup and use 2 hardrives
This is just a way to include your link,yes and how to make money on the web really works ! Not for me though.
In the meantime get a dvd burner and thats it.

bluto is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 12:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to Trax
Default

^ I HAVE NO CLUE WHAT YOUR SAYING
Trax is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 12:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

ummm...... neither do I
basically, you can just plug in the IDE and power cable, set the jumpers, screw the drive into a spare 3 1/2" slot and boot up and you're set
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.