how do i find out my PSU? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2009, 06:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Question how do i find out my PSU?

i can't find out my PSU, can someone help me where i can find it? i have a windows vista

model: Aspire M1201
processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual core processor 4800+ 2.50 GHz
RAM: 3.00GB
system type: 32-bit operating system
__________________

armbuck is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 07:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: how do i find out my PSU?

The only way to be sure is to open up the PC and look at the label on the PSU itself. You can try searching for the info on google but manufacturers don't usually put that info up on their wabsite.
__________________

__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 07:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: how do i find out my PSU?

Open the case, it usually is in the top left corner if you open the case and look at it from the side. If you are looking at it from the front it should be in the back top portion of the unit. Tell tale sign is where that black power cord connects to on the back of your computer - that is your power supply unit (that is what we are talking about right?).
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 07:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: how do i find out my PSU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmote View Post
The only way to be sure is to open up the PC and look at the label on the PSU itself. You can try searching for the info on google but manufacturers don't usually put that info up on their wabsite.
Or website even. :laughing:

Sorry, just had to
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 08:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: how do i find out my PSU?

Carnage, don't forget, he's British I'm sorry too, kmote.
oldskool is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading my PSU TekBubs New Systems | Building and Buying 25 04-14-2009 07:32 PM
Office PC PSU Dead? Merkwürdigeliebe Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-24-2008 07:58 PM
PSU like acting like a vehicle... Chrysamere Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 07-01-2008 02:27 AM
wondering just how good my PSU is... RogueSeven New Systems | Building and Buying 11 05-30-2008 08:56 PM
malfunctioning psu harry0591 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-04-2008 08:43 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.