How do i COMPLETLY erase my harddrive? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2009, 05:13 PM   #11 (permalink)
Yee Ol' Salt
 
Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 642
Default Re: How do i COMPLETLY erase my harddrive?

So, the only OS you will have a disc for is Win 7? sounds like you may want to Download an ISO for XP.. your machine has an OEM key on the side? or somewhere in your paperwork?
if you have a lagit key then I suggest you seek out an install disc for your version of XP.. with that you can delete all the partitions and turn the disk into raw data then make new partitions and then do a quick format then install your OS.

Once you obtain your XP CD this can be done easily. from the install council "blue menu"
install a fresh copy of XP then when it takes you to your drive/partition choice, highlight the partitions and delete them, follow the options "D" and "L" on both and then "C" to create the new ones.
__________________

__________________

Find my post helpful? IF so please rate me by clicking the green check mark under my avatar.





:D Antec 300|M3N72-D|AMD PHM II X3 BE 720 3.0ghz (CodeName "Heka")|OCZ Stealth Xtreme 600w|2 two gig OCZ DDR2 1066 gold 4 GB of Ram|BFG-GTX 260 512||Samsung 42" Plasma| XP x86 sp3 /Vista x386 and x64|
The face I make everytime I'm on my machine :eek:
Hampton is offline  
Old 02-09-2009, 04:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: How do i COMPLETLY erase my harddrive?

Go into the Cotrol Panels --> Administrative Tools --> Computer management
From there you can just erase the entire partition.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 10:59 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
lyecdevf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 218
Default Re: How do i COMPLETLY erase my harddrive?

I just errased by disk with the dban boot disk and I used the Gutman method. It took two days to complete but with 35 passes that data is gone for ever.
lyecdevf is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 12:55 PM   #14 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: How do i COMPLETLY erase my harddrive?

If you really wanna make sure its gone...take a hammer to it and then use a blowtorch on the platters .
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 07:56 PM   #15 (permalink)
Yee Ol' Salt
 
Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 642
Default Re: How do i COMPLETLY erase my harddrive?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lyecdevf View Post
I just errased by disk with the dban boot disk and I used the Gutman method. It took two days to complete but with 35 passes that data is gone for ever.
Well, I guess it would be.. lol, Seriously, why on earth would anyone need to destroy data that badly? 35 overwrite's is overkill.. infact that probably will harm your drive more than anything.. 3 overwrite's is plenty.
__________________

__________________

Find my post helpful? IF so please rate me by clicking the green check mark under my avatar.





:D Antec 300|M3N72-D|AMD PHM II X3 BE 720 3.0ghz (CodeName "Heka")|OCZ Stealth Xtreme 600w|2 two gig OCZ DDR2 1066 gold 4 GB of Ram|BFG-GTX 260 512||Samsung 42" Plasma| XP x86 sp3 /Vista x386 and x64|
The face I make everytime I'm on my machine :eek:
Hampton is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Toshiba Laptop Harddrive Failing: How to Clone? GoodNews101 Microsoft Windows and Software 8 01-30-2009 09:26 AM
Windows problem with a Cheetah Harddrive Kyonu Microsoft Windows and Software 5 09-15-2008 02:42 AM
how to erase data on Harddrive SHaTTaFaKKaP Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 02-26-2008 07:13 PM
External harddrive for all torrents/movies etc to avoid... oxfile84 Laptops and Notebooks 6 09-21-2007 11:29 PM
Spontaneous Harddrive Failure Mortiffer Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-14-2007 04:13 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.